We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Taghum B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Taghum B&B to your Saves list
Beach Taghum B&B
3289 Granite Road, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6X8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A favorite retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at this marvelous B & B several times and it is always a treat. The rural location makes for a undisturbed sleep and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and we would recommend staying with Harold and Willa to anyone passing through this beautiful corner of the country, They are the best hosts!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Manager at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Fred, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit from you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We did 2 road trips through BC, Idaho and Washington this summer, staying exclusively in B&Bs, and this was our favorite. Harold & Willa are wonderful hosts, and go out of their way to make you feel pampered and welcomed. We had planned to stay 2 nights, and extended it another night because we were enjoying ourselves so much. We went canoeing, swam off their dock, relaxed on lounge chairs by the lake, enjoyed a special boat ride to dinner on the waterfront in Nelson, spent an evening making s'mores in their cozy outdoor fireplace, soaked in the hot tub...it was perfect!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Manager at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing report. We appreciate your time writing this and so glad you had a wonderful experience at our B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this b & b at the end of a short road trip. From start to finish, Harold and Willa were the perfect hosts, welcoming us to their peaceful garden for conversation before showing us our accommodation. They have made a wonderful oasis for a variety of travellers, offering a separate lounge to relax in, a hot tub for a soothing soak, and best of all, information on local restaurants if you can pull yourself away from their beautiful surroundings. We will certainly recommend this stop for others.

Room Tip: We loved the Osprey room for the view towards the garden and river - very serene. There is a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks so much for writing this review - we're pleased your stay was enjoyable and we loved hearing your travel adventures. (Very envious!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My 12 year old and I stayed with Willa and Harold this July. The property was beautiful and backed on to the lake. There is a sandy beach, fruit trees, and lots of space to throw a ball around or play soccer. My son loved the hot tub and there was a cozy outdoor fireplace. Despite the lake's cold water temperatures this year (and I mean colder than the Pacific), we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good, the room was clean, and the hosts were friendly. It is a 5 minute drive to downtown Nelson, with a small provincial park between. I don't have any complaints other than one of the twin beds seemed to be at a slant and that some of the snacks offered in the communal kitchen were past their due date.

Room Tip: My son and I stayed in a smaller room with twin beds. One of the beds could've been more comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Manager at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi - Thanks for your review. I checked the single beds in the Heron room as we were surprised that they weren't 100%. We couldn't find any problem and perhaps the mattress was just not sitting properly on the bedspring. Hopefully this won't deter you from visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect with a B&B as this was only the second one we've ever stayed at. We stayed two nights, our experience was so positive at Beach Taghum B&B that we will now consider other B&B's. To say we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement. The location was perfect only 5 mins out of Nelson. We stayed in the Kingfisher room, very nice room, very clean, comfortable and all around pleasant. The most comfortable bed we've every slept on. The private bathroom was beautiful, loved the heated floors, nice touch! The common area had everything you needed, and then some. They even had tea, hot chocolate, coffee for their guests. Enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings, and loved the fact the deer came to visit in evenings as well. Appreciated that we were able to use their canoe and enjoy the water, they really had everything. I really felt the owners went the extra mile for their guests and so did my husband. We look forward to an opportunity to come back and stay a little longer. This is a wonderful find. Took a way some wonderful memories and a recipe or two ...the breakfasts Willa prepared were delectable. She was kind enough to share a recipe with me so I can in turn share with my family.

Room Tip: Kingfisher room, private entrance and your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Cathy, such a nice review from such nice people. We certainly enjoyed your visit and hopefully you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Chose Beach Taghum from the reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed and, in fact, stayed an extra day from our original plan. Willa and Harold were excellent hosts [and very nice people] going above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed the first two nights in the Osprey room which was nice - the private bath was down the hall but not a problem. The 3rd night we stayed in the Heron room with two twin beds - a little small but still very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The location is an easy 4 miles or so from downtown Nelson and right on the water with good views and large grassy area to kick back and relax. Nelson and area is a beautiful and fun place and with a great place to stay all was good.

Room Tip: no swimming pool but you can swim in the lake - no fitness center but a great walk along the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi - thank you for the wonderful review, we do appreciate it and the time it took. You've got one more room to try out and we'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Beach Taghum B & B. the first night was in the Heron Room. It has two twin beds that are very comfortable. We were able to stay the next two nights in the Kingfisher Suite. It is huge and beautifully decorated. The hosts, Willa and Harold are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. They even let us use their canoe, kayak and small boat. This was great as it made our stay feel like we were at home. Thanks again.
The full hot breakfasts were scrumptious and very filling. Delicious. The beach and grassed yard are beautiful and we loved the closeness of the beach and the privacy. The hot tub was a bonus.
We will definitely be back. We are hoping to bring more of our family in the summer of 2013 so that they can experience this little piece of heaven also.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we enjoyed meeting you and hopefully you'll come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Taghum B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Taghum B&B

Address: 3289 Granite Road, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6X8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet accommodation with waterfront view. Bedrooms have quality bedding & linens and all have private bath. Enjoy our lily and fish pond, barbecue and outdoors hot tub. Full varied breakfast using organic and the freshest of ingredients. Homemade breads and jams. Taxes included in rate. Guest lounge with kitchenette and 50" TV. Level entry and off street parking. Minutes from downtown Nelson. Markets, Shopping, Skiing, Golf, Hiking and water sports close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Taghum B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Taghum B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.