We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dancing Bear Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dancing Bear Inn to your Saves list
Dancing Bear Inn
171 Baker St., Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
1 review
“Awfull.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

We're traveling around B.C. for 3 weeks. The rooms are horrible, really tiny and not clean either. I hate the fact that the bathroom and toilet are shared. The location is good though and the staff is very friendly. Price is good for what it is. I would defenitely not recommend this to friends and family as I really not enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
11
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our bicycle touring group, 15 in all, used the Dancing Bear as an overnight stay midway through a Victoria Day Weekend tour of British Columbia's "Silver Triangle" route (a.k.a. "Silvery Slocan").

This is an urban, downtown hostel. Parking is terrible. We had to wait for a window of opportunity to bring our large support van around via the back alley to unload food, luggage etc. Not sure how you would fare if you arrived there by car. The place is built in to a hill: kitchen and back alley are downstairs from "street" level.

The person on duty graciously allowed us limited access earlier than the posted check-in time (4:00 pm) so we could stow our bikes. It was nice to see she had the names and the room assignments of all our group.

The indoor storage area for bicycles was nice, especially on that rainy day. So was the hose outside for washing the bikes down.

Rooms were nice for a hostel, mattresses were in good shape. No dust bunnies under the beds! (unusual for a HI hostel). The shared bathroom downstairs was a little "interesting" ... note over the toilet to please take care raising the lid, bolts broken awaiting a replacement (wonder how long ...?)

The sitting room on the ground floor (street level) is a pleasant place to sit, chill and chat. Nice to see a pay phone, and inside at that. There is a public computer with coin-op Internet access.

The kitchen and food preparation area, downstairs on the back alley level, is pretty minimal. Only two picnic sized tables. If you had more than one group trying to prepare a meal at once there would be issues.

CAUTION with the WATER: we filled up our water jugs from the sink in the laundry: water was TERRIBLE, possibly dangerous. Tasted like bleach, turned some stomachs. The rest of the taps in the building seemed OK. Had they recently worked on the pipes? Word to the wise: taste it first. The may have a grey water system and this may be what we inadvertently filled up from.

Overall this hostel came to us with a great reputation; our impression was "a little better than OK but not stellar".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I think this place would be worth it just to hang out in the lounge, a nice warm escape from chilly Nelson. My 6 bunk dorm room was massive, any other hostel would have jammed a couple more beds in there but instead it was super spacious. Plus I was in there alone and got a great sleep. The kitchen was so-so, a bit small but clean and had all the utensils etc that you need. Location is handy for hitting up restaurants and pubs on and around Nelson's main street. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed at the Dancing Bear Inn during summer 2010 after reading reviews here. The hostel was as advertised- in a good location downtown and was a good value for the money. I havent done much Hosteling before, and the rooms/common areas were very clean and comfortable. THe only draw back here was that the restrooms were not as clean as the other Canadian hostels I visited. i was expecting shared bathrooms, but didnt realize at this hostel both sexes share the same bathrooms-which was different from the other hostels I slept at-and i wasnt super excited about that... but all in all it was a good hostel experience and would recommend if you need a value place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very clean, nice relaxed atmosphere, roomy rooms. Beds were pretty good for a hostel. Did not really look at the kitchen but it seemed ok to me. The best value for a hostel (inexpensive and very nice).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Isle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is a first class hostel and excellent value for money. It has the usual niggles of kitchen pans and glasses etc but nothing which should detract from your enjoyment.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. The lounging area upstairs is a bit like a hotel foyer but quite comfortable when you get used to it. It has free wifi and a helpful staff who can advise and loan guide books if necessary.
Be aware that Nelson is an unfriendly parking city: it has parking metres outside the hostel. If you are early the hostel has some parking areas at the back..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the hostel for a week and found it very enjoyable. The location is great, the staff is friendly and knowledgable about the various activities in the area.

The rooms were simple, clean and fresh, with large windows (lots of sunlight). We met wonderful people travelling from various countries who were also staying at the hostel. I highly recommend making use of the common areas, such as the lobby, kitchen and outdoor patio/bbq space, as these are great places to visit with other people passing through Nelson.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dancing Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Inn

Address: 171 Baker St., Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Dancing Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dancing Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.