We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic lodging within walking distance of Baker Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Alpine Inn and Suites
1120 Hall Mines Road, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1G6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
South Coast England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Rustic lodging within walking distance of Baker Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The owners originally from The Netherlands are friendly and helpful. The rooms are motel style and have a rustic cabin style feel to them. Baker Street is a 10 minute pleasant walk down the hill and easy access by car to the main highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
39
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Extremely helpful and friendly managers and staff! Upon my arrival my boyfriend and I were greeted like family. They warmly welcomed us, quickly checked us in and let us explore our lovely room. As we opened the door, we saw the plush, inviting bed, ample baggage space- we even had a leather couch! The room smelled clean, and was impeccably spotless. The bathroom was spacious and held a very luxurious jacuzzi tub.
Everything about the hotel was comforting. The management was always on hand, the cleaning staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the premises was clean. The hotel was close to the city center, but not in the hub of activity so that you achieved a quality sleep in the very comfortable beds. I loved everything about my visit, and would definitely return. I've never experienced better service or cleanliness in a modern motel setting in my 13 years of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nothing amazing about this place, but it's a good value for Nelson. Clean, quiet and close enough to Baker Street to walk. Nelson is an easy place to spend a lot of money on lodging, but nothing in the town seems worth the expense. That's why we've always stayed here and have been quite happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went on a vacation and decided to stay at the Alpine primarily because it was dog friendly. What we found on arrival was a wonderful couple who greeted us and reccomended some wonderful places to take our dog while we were waiting for our room to be ready (we arrived about 3 hrs early because we forgot about the time change). When arriving at our room we found it was not only neat and clean but it had an awesome Jacuuzi tub. The bed was comfortable and the room had air conditioning. I was also impressed with how easy check in and check out was. We had to leave very early the next morning and they allowed us to check out in the evening so we would have no worries in the morning but could just get up and go. Me and my husband have stayed at various chain hotels in the past 3 years and I have never been as impressed with a hotel as this one. Great customer service and the friendly atmosphere make this the place to be.

Room Tip: You can request specific things, such as jaccuzi tubs or kitchenette, or perhaps even a 42 inch tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Not only was the town itself amazing but after a long day of touring, the Alpine INN was the place to go back to. The rooms were very well maintained, spotless and the staff was extremely friendly. If you go to nelson, STAY AT THE ALPINE INN! you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nelson is a favorite destination and for our latest trip, we decided on a stay at the Alpine. Although not our regular destination, this was our third stay at the Alpine over the last 18 years. An older motel with an eclectic layout, we were pretty certain what we getting when our family of 3 booked in. The Alpine is a family run establishment and pride in ownership is apparent. We arrived for our three night stay at about 9:30 pm to a very friendly greeting. our room was a kitchen suite with two Queen beds. Beds were firm but surprisingly comfortable, we all slept well. Our room had been partially renovated: New bathroom, new carpets and new windows & new paint. Kitchen unit was still 1950's/ 1960's original and consisted of full size fridge, microwave and cook top (no oven). Kitchen supplies were very basic but worked for us just fine. Some simple supplies in our room that I usually take for granted were missing - although we were able to borrow one from the front desk, rooms do not come stocked with a blow dryer. Another item missing from our room was an alarm clock. You are able to request a wake up call from the office but we realized the lack of an alarm clock at 6:00 AM - Rummaging around for the cell phone told us we didn't need to get up yet. Free wi-fi was appreciated, we always travel with our laptop and in Nelson we use it to see what live music we could catch or new restaurant to try (Both favorite "to do" in Nelson!). Our Laptop is also our source of low key evening entertainment. Plug in the HDMI cable, hook up the TV and instant movies. Unfortunately, the 20 year old 19 inch Sony sitting on top of the fridge wasn't compatible and difficult to see from the bed. A couple of minor additions in the renovated bathroom are high on my wish list: a shelf in the shower stall to hold soap, shampoo & razor. The only place currently is on the shower floor. A shelf under the mirror/ over the sink to hold grooming supplies as there is no counter space at all and the windowsill is used for water glasses, hotel soap and shampoo. Lastly, a hook or two to hang wet towels - instead of putting wet towels on top of dry clean towels. Two of our three mornings could be classified as the tale of unfortunate events: Morning 1, 7:20 AM we woke up to the "domestic dispute" next door - her colourful language had us wondering: what could he have possibly done so early in the day to get her this angry. We got our answer upon returning to our room that evening...judging by all their belongings sitting on the front stoop leading to the room, this was a long stay that was evicted. Morning 2 8:20AM: return by same colourful language woman to collect some belongings. Being Easter weekend, there may not have been another room to book us into or perhaps the eviction was a last minute decision as I can't imagine any other reason to book a family into the room right next door? In fairness to the owner, we did not bring our concerns forward but after 2 mornings we hoped it would be over and packing up all our belongings to move for one more evening was too much trouble. If you are looking for a clean basic room to stay for a night this motel will fit the bill - Our last two stays were pleasant and uneventful. Our reason for choosing The Alpine for this trip was traveling with our daughter, it was $40 a night cheaper than a room at The Hume. Next couples trip we'll be back at the Hume - historical, renovated, right in the down town core and free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpineinnandsuites, Owner at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for writing such an extensive review. When someone writes you a novel you shouldn’t try to answer them on a postcard. So here is my reply:
Thank you for pointing out which basics were missing. So far the bathroom shelves have been ordered and should be installed before the end of this month. Although most rooms are equipped with either 32” or 42” flatscreen tv’s, this room hadn't received one yet. We are aiming at having the last conventional tv’s replaced before summer comes. As far as the other recommendations go, we will and have been looking into them.
We apologize for the inconvenience that your neighbours caused. It is true that family issues arose during their stay which forced them to go their separate ways. On several occasions we asked them to clean up their act and even offered our help. By the time they did what we asked it was already too late. We have learned a hard lesson here; these guests asked us for help in a tight situation which we offered. There was no profit for us to make in this case but now after your review I am afraid it might cost me dearly. So we will not respond to similar requests in the future so similar cases shouldn’t happen again.
It is unfortunate that you did not bring this matter to our attention during your stay as we would have gone out of way to rectify the situation and ensure your satisfaction. Once again thank you for your review and we hope you will enjoy your next visit to Nelson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I've traveled all over this country playing Ska music www.kmanandthe45s.com and had a show to play in Nelson. When we arrived we asked the locals where was the best place to stay and everyone said The Alpine by far. We rolled in and were greeted extremely well by a happy proud smiling face. You could tell right away that this person took great pride in his establishment. We have never been so well treated and absolutely lived our stay here.
Thank you for you're hospitality.

K-Man singer and guitar player for K-Man & the 45s

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpineinnandsuites, Owner at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our property. You brought smiles to all of us working here at the Alpine! We take great pride in what we do and apparently that showed. We definitely hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn and Suites

Address: 1120 Hall Mines Road, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine motel has 30 clean and comfortable rooms with or without kitchen, as well as Jacuzzi suites and large family units. This motel features free wireless internet and parking in front of your room. The Alpine Motel is also dog friendly. Ideally situated for those seeking peace and quiet but wanting proximity to Historic Baker Street and Nelson's vibrant arts and entertainment. Please let us show you our variety of renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.