We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London,England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nightmare experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

checked this hotel carefully & based on good reviews booked for 3 nights. After an 11 hour road trip our party of 7 arrived tired & hungry to be greeted by the worst reception staff ever! no eye contact, everything was a problem! We had requested 2 adjoining rooms which apparently was not possible & they were not interested in trying to sort it out. Our room was on the ground floor facing the road - I am spoiled for choice as to what caused the most noise- the road outside, the paper thin walls so we could hear the next rooms tv all night or the room upstairs- the sound insulation is non existent. The people upstairs were not being obnoxious, it was the fact that even them going to the toilet was audible! The piece de resistance however, was that one of the beds was covered in sand!!! I am assuming the room had been cleaned but this was not evident to us. We had booked for 3 nights but the hotel was so appalling all 7 of us voted to leave after 1 night. We stayed in 5 different hotels on our trip round Canada, from very modest to luxurious: the other 4 were all great but I would recommend avoiding this one like the plague!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — staff attitude and noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
I am truly sorry that your experience was not up to par. We typically pride ourselves as having a top quality hotel in town with very friendly staff and this was clearly not the case. We are always aiming to improve our customer service skills and we recently renovated all 70 guest rooms and are only weeks away from a 'PLUS' designation. I would encourage you to give us another chance on your next trip through town. You will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,

General Manager
BW Baker Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    90
    31
    2
    4
See reviews for
60
84
31
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed two nights in this hotel and loved the downtown location. There is a restaurant on site serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (we ate one breakfast and one dinner here which we enjoyed). Breakfast is not complimentary though. You also have several restaurant choices within a 3 to 4 block radius. Nelson is a fairly small city so it was nice to be in the centre of town. The parking lot (free) is across the street from the hotel. You must cross a fairly major street to get to it which can be tricky with your luggage.

Very hot here when we visited so we appreciated the air conditioning. Hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. Also used the free internet in the lobby.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking lot across the street
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

After checking out the other hotels in Nelson, we would definitely choose to stay here again. This Best Western is a bit older than the ones we've stayed in elsewhere, but the rooms are still in decent condition, if a bit dark. The bathroom was clean and the layout of the room was good. Air conditioning worked very well and the fridge was nice to have. The bed was comfortable, but the chairs have definitely seen better days (the padding in the cushions was worn pretty thin making it uncomfortable to sit for any length of time at the desk).

One thing we were disappointed in, is that they did not offer a free breakfast which many of the other Best Western's do, yet they charged the same amount or more than other BW in comparable sized towns.

They did have a restaurant attached to them, which did have good food, but again, we missed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Liked — it was comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — no complimentary breakfast, the building etc. is a bit old and dated.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

My usual stay when in nelson.

Friendly helpful staff. Internet access in lobby. Clean rooms. Size of rooms can be small sometimes, and the view into the atrium / garden leaves some to be desired (love looking out the window to see a wall you can literally reach out and touch, not too mention a wall with a huge mural on it!).

All in all its a good hotel. Good quality for what you pay. Recommended for stays in Nelson. Parking can sometimes be a problem, however. Street or across the street parking lot parking only.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bus. owner
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed in this hotel only over night, the room was clean, bathroom was Ok, free in room Internet access. Would make the stay more attractive if offered complimentary breakfast, when we paid $100 per night.

  • Liked — clean place
  • Disliked — $100 per night without a continental breakfast
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

This hotel was on the main street of Nelson so was in a great location.

Rooms were clean and quite large.

Free internet access in the lobby was useful.

Staff were friendly on reception and in the restaurant.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2005

The wonderfully quiet king room was spotless. The staff was friendly and efficient. The dining was excellent for dinner and breakfast. There's simply nothing bad to say about the place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.