We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was happy until we checked out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Nelson
2 reviews
“Was happy until we checked out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Because we have dogs (a 12 week old pug puppy and a 3 year old shepherd), we chose this hotel because they were pet friendly.
At the time of check in, we were asked for a credit card just for the file, and were told we didn't have to pay with the card at checkout and nothing would be charged to it. I said ok, as my payment hadn't gone through on the card yet. So, next thing I know, the lady at the front desk runs my card through for the full amount and informed me it was declined. I looked at her and said "I know that, the payment hasn't gone through yet and you said nothing would be put on it". So, I was a little perturbed and told her we would just prepay the $139+tx room, the $20 extra pet fee, and the $200 deposit. Then we checked in.
All was well, until checkout. We tidied up grabbed our stuff and went to checkout. We got our full deposit back and left. About 30 minutes later, we get a call that the housekeeper found a small doo doo under the desk and we had to return (because I paid cash) and pay a carpet cleaning fee. I asked if she was serious, as a pug puppy (3.5 lbs) CANNOT make a big enough mess to warrant a carpet cleaning. She said tht there was NO WAY they could rent the room out as the tiny spot on the carpet would be wet and the $50 fee would go towards "man hours". Really? $50 for a housekeeper, in a "PET FRIENDLY" hotel room, to do her job? Pick up a tiny poop and lysol it??? And the reason we didn't see it was that the carpeting in there is quite dark and multicoloured, so it wouldn't even leave a stain!
I asked what the pet fee was for and was told that cleaning wasn't part of it. :-/ I returned and paid it, but feel that an extra charge for something that should be part of being pet friendly (to a reasonable point) is unfair and petty. Won't return to this hotel again, as our bill ended up well over $200 for the night. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am really sorry you felt that you should not have paid the extra cleaning for your pet going to the bathroom on our carpet in the guest room. We take pride in the fact that this property is 'Ultra Clean' and when something like this occurs, we feel that it is necessary to steamclean the carpets. While you may feel that it was small, your pet may have also urinated on the carpets which would be hard to see. We just want to make sure that the room is 100% clean for the next guests.

The extra pet fee that you pay is simply for the extra cleaning that pet friendly rooms require which is much more than rooms without pets. It does not, however, mean that this includes the extra cleaning required when they go to the bathroom in the room. I truly feel that most hotels would handle pet rooms in the same manner.

We are sorry to hear that this has left a bad taste in your mouth after the rest of your stay seemed like it was very positive. We enjoy being a pet-friendly hotel and rarely have this type of thing occur. Regardless, we appreciate the review. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    74
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
67
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Once each year my wife & I travel to Nelson, B.C. to visit with our daughter & her family. We have always stayed at the best western hotel because it is so convenient, very clean & the staff are always very friendly. They have a great dining room with a fine selection of food. Their workout room is well equipped with a hot tub as well.
We always stay at this hotel & we recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank for you saying so. I am glad that you are well-aquainted with the services we offer and that the staff have been wonderful. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Room 315 which is said to have a "lake view." Unfortunately, the sliver of the lake visible though one small window is located beyond a highway, rail road tracks, and a wide industrial area.

Noise from the highway awakened us at 5:30 a.m.

The room is on the small side with a low ceiling and the bathroom is small, too. However, the bed was comfortable, the shower was good, and the towels were soft and fluffy.

The monochromatic decor seems calculated to please men.

What we enjoyed most was the cleanliness of the place. It was, indeed, a treat to stay at a hotel that pays such careful attention to cleaning and maintenance.

The Baker Street Restaurant, located in the hotel, serves delicious food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times for business travel. It's right on the main drag in Nelson (Baker Street). It's an older hotel that's been completely renovated a few years ago and looks very nice. A few things, however, to be aware of. Parking is across the street in an open parking lot reserved for hotel guests i.e. you have to tote your luggage from your parking spot across the street to the hotel (unless you get the loading zone right in front of the entrance to unload and then park). 3rd floor guest rooms are accessible by stairs only i.e. elevator goes to 3rd floor but then there were additional stairs to get to my room i.e. have to haul your heavy luggage up and down these stairs. There is no ramp for this. The rooms are very small. A small entrance area for closet and fridge, bathroom to the right, and then the sleeping area is not much larger than the bed itself. Last thing, and this is what really bothered me. You can't open any windows for fresh air. Feels claustrophobic and you have to run the fan from the AC all night to pull in fresh air (noise from that can affect sleeping). I might stay here again if it's only for a night, but will likely stay at the Prestige Inn in town that is right on the lakefront and has balconies and is a quieter location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that won't require you to use stairs after the elevator to haul your luggage up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review.

You are right that there is a section of about five rooms on our third floor that require a few stairs to access the rooms. The majority of rooms on the third floor are accessed without having to contend with any stairs. Feel free to give us a heads up that you would prefer to not be located in this part of the building and we'd be happy to allocate you elsewhere in the building. The rooms on this part of the hotel, however, have a nicer view that faces out towards Elephant Mountain and Kootenay Lake.

To help circulate air, we also can provide fans in the rooms if you feel like it is uncomfortable. As far as parking goes, we do have a large free parking lot that is located directly in front of us. If that is full or the guests want something closer to the property, the metered parking and loading zone is free after 5pm. We want to make every effort possible to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed her for one night in August with family of four and five bikes. Lady at front desk was terribly rude when we tried to check in at 1:20 when check in time wasn't until 3 p.m. Yes, she pointed out the time and, until we had a good 60 second staring contest, didn't even offer to check and see if the room was ready, which, of course, it was not. We went for a wander and came back. Asked about bike storage and were told bikes were not safe on the car roof rack but the hotel would not put them anywhere or take responsibility. They asked that we take the bikes to our room as "the rooms are spacious enough for your bikes." So imagine an average sized hotel room with five bikes... We locked two inside the car and took three up to the room. Can't believe they actually suggested we take the bikes up to the room in a newly renovated hotel. We were very careful not to get marks on the walls etc but can't guarantee the goose poop we rode through stayed on the tires.

The rooms are quite nice but certainly not spacious enough for bikes. The view from our room was of a brick wall. For the money we paid we could have had a much better experience elsewhere. Perhaps if the woman who checked us in hadn't been so rude we might have had a better impression but she set the tone for the whole stay. People skills are not her strong suit.

Next time we're in Nelson we'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am really sorry that we were not more accommodating with your bikes. We normally would be able to store your bikes in a storage room directly behind our front desk. I am not sure why this was not offered to you unless of course it was full with other things as this room is not large by any means.

Even if it was full, we should have offered use of one of our three banquet rooms for you to store your bikes in which are located on the first floor. I agree, we should never be instructing people to bring their bikes up to the rooms for obvious reasons.

Some of our staff were not clear on this so your feedback has been productive. I apologize if you feel that she was not very friendly. We usually receive so many compliments about how friendly the staff are. Thank you for pointing this out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed at the Best Western on the long weekend for a wedding i was attending in Nelson. I guess the only reason for the average rating was I wasn't in my room much and we were only there for the one night.

We ended up with a room with two queens cause we were late to book the hotel and it was a long weekend. The room was clean and the beds were great.

I have to say the staff at the front desk were very nice to me. I caught them in between a delivery guy who had dropped off the wrong thing for what appeared to be the second time and a really rude guest attempting to check in early but hadn't called and told them about the early check in ( We knew we would want to get in early so we called for an early check in ).

Overall a good stay.. our room had a great view of nelson... WELL maybe not nelson but a painted mural of nelson on the back of a building.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with a view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. I wish you had spent a bit more time at the hotel so that we may have received a higher score from you! I know there are so many things to see and do in Nelson, especially in the beautiful summertime. Most importantly, thanks for choosing us as your hotel. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

On our summer vacation this year we decided to return to West Kootenay to enjoy the lake and Kaslo Jazzfest. We used Airmiles coupons toward our hotel expense and were very well rewarded. The room was huge, with a view of Baker Street and the bed was super comfortable. The cleaning service was excellent and you had a choice of services to meet your needs for the next day. This hotel offers travelers everything they need, including reasonable meals next door, coin op laundry, Internet & computer access (free) and more! The front desk attendants were efficient, if somewhat aloof. We would definitely recommend this hotel and may return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. It's great when you can use your Aeroplan points to use at hotels such as ours. The Kaslo Jazz Fest is a big draw every year. We are glad that you enjoyed it as well as the clean comforts of this hotel. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.