We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western with best coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Nelson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Best Western with best coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Dear Baker Street crew

Another time I have enjoyed my stay at your beautiful renovated Hotel. This time I had my dog with me and was very pleased with the clean and nice looking room. This was the best animal friendly Hotel room I have ever stayed in!! Great coffee:-) Thanks a lot! Cheers

Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    74
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
67
26
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our room was good with comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. The air conditioner was really noisy and right beside the bed. And of course the window didn't open. Still we would book here again and would recommend this hotel as it is good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Nelson takes justifiable pride in preservation of its heritage buildings which includes this hotel. The recent restoration of this building is of excellent quality. Naturally, it retains some of the idiosyncrasies of an old building including an odd layout, not a critical item to anyone's enjoyment but somewhat amusing in our experience. When I made our reservation by phone, I mentioned I had noticed they appeared to be close to a rail track and a major roadway and I requested the quietest possible room. Their rep said they would assign us a "Courtyard" room which was completely sheltered. This sounded satisfactory. Well, "courtyard" is a bit of a misnomer although I can't think of a better term. It is an interior corridor, long and narrow, not roofed, providing some natural light to interior rooms. To some, they could be a bit claustrophobic but was it ever quiet - easily, the quietest hotel room, I have ever had - not even any plumbing noise, exactly what I asked for. To compensate for the lack of outside view, they have had an very nice mural painted on the wall. Beds are excellent and decor is very pleasant. I have no problem recommending these rooms to anyone else for whom quiet is a major priority.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in a Jacuzzi room with a King Bed and 32 Inch TV. The room was clean and very comfortable. There was a good view of the lake and we were not bothered by any noise from the traffic below.
For dinner we ate at the attached Baker Street Inn and the meal and service were both fantastic. I had previously stayed at the Hume hotel and the Best Western is much better.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel has just completed a very extensive renovation to the rooms and public areas and it was delightful to stay in the brand new surroundings! The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable, large flat screen tvs, good furniture and a very comfy bed. The location is right on Baker Street, so walking distance to all shops and restaurants in the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I just finished 5 days working in the Nelson area and at the end of each day I find this hotel to be relaxing and quiet. The staff here is very friendly. The lobby & hallways are very well maintained. The rooms have been recently reno`d. A nice job. The Sunday brunch at the attached restaurant is amazing!! Well done Best Western. See you in October 2011.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta,Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Great, Clean, Modern, would stay again. friendly and great location...........................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.