We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non Japanese sushi with erratic quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Ichi

Sushi Ichi
541 E Island Hwy, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2H4, Canada
250.954.2020
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Non Japanese sushi with erratic quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have visited this restaurant quite a few times and enjoyed many of its dishes. Having been to Japan, my husband likes a number of less common sushi and never has "rolls" with his meal. His feeling is if you are a novice with sushi you will probably be fine. If not check out the soft-shell crab rolls and the Uni and don't be surprised if you can't get both.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant/Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I have gone to this small restaurant a number of times and loved it each time. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is some of the best Japanese food we've had on this side of the Pacific. Last night we took a group of 13 and they were very accommodating and upheld their reputation. Everyone in the group enjoyed the food as well as our super waitress. Thank you Sushi Ichi!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“''Best Sushi ever''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been going to Sushi Ichi for a long time, and always have the best Service and the Best sushi.My hat goes off to the staff there who are always so friendly and remember my name.The delicate touches put into the meal are subtle but do not go under looked."Masters of the knife"If you would like a great place with a warm atmosphere Sushi ichi is the place to be.I always enjoy my visit and look forward to the next one!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch time venue....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Sushi Ichi always present a delightful Bento box selection at lunch times, well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sushi ahhhhhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly, the owner and front end sushi chef's are excellent, the food is fantastic if you sit at the tables or at the Sushi bar. I will keep coming back. I like the Nabiyaki Udon soup, Tuna Tetaki, and the rolls. Bon Apitit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ichi also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Sushi Ichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Ichi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.