We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast done right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smitty's Pancake House Restaurant

Smitty's Pancake House Restaurant
545 E Island Highway, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2H2, Canada
(250) 248-2432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 93 Restaurants in Parksville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Parksville, Canada
1 review
“breakfast done right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been to Smitty's many times and have always enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere.
The swiss omelette is one of my favourites and I love that I can substitute the hash browns for sliced tomatoes and or anything else I wish to alter.
Definitely recommend this location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast. The fare was normal pancake house food. Cooked properly. Fruit cup was generous and very fresh. Staff very friendly. Would definitely go back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was great to have such a caring server who did her utmost to please us, not just with her prompt service but her ability to converse with the guest. She made all attempts to help me with my picky eating. Food was hot, good portion size and tasty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really should have listened to the warnings posted here, but we were really hungry! It was the only place open that wasn't serving fast food and we've eaten at Smitty's (another location) before without incidence. Really, how hard is it to screw up bacon and eggs!? Well, they did! Nothing like minced scrambled eggs, burnt bacon and cold hash browns. It didn't smell very good either. The kids meals weren't any better (no healthy options either). The BBQ Chicken dinner was a tiny little piece of chicken (about 2oz), dry as a bone and clearly overcooked or reheated. Everything was overcooked and horrible, except for the fries. If I can recommend anything, it would be the fries. They were the only tasty item on the table. Our server was nice. Not her fault the cook can't cook! Oh, and to top it all off, we were seated at the back of the restaurant (the restaurant was almost empty) right next to another family who openly burped several times. Very appetizing indeed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Should have known better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Driving back to Victoria from Ucluelet & decided to stop in Parksville for lunch. First choice closed so we kept going until a Smitty's appeared. Hadn't been to one in years but didn't recall bad experiences.
We were seated in the "seniors wing" where everyone seemed to be tottering. While the servers were very pleasant, the service doesn't make up for the quality of the food.
Coffee was watered down, an order of liver and onions was overcooked and served with limp over steamed vegetables and congealing gravy. My taco salad did have crisp romaine lettuce but an over abundance of taco shell and accompanying taco chips. Ground beef was well drained but bland despite the advertised"spicy beef", and cheese might have been found with the aid of a magnifying glass. Accompanying salsa was very mild. I avoided the "sour cream" which looked more like mayonnaise.
My advice is to keep on driving.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Pancake House Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Smitty's Pancake House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smitty's Pancake House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.