We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Garden

Bamboo Garden
144 Morison Ave, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2H2, Canada
(250) 248-3323
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 93 Restaurants in Parksville
Restaurant details
Parksville, Canada
1 review
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After the decent reviews, we ordered a dinner for 3
The chicken chow mein was covered in strips of chicken luncheon meat?! The flavour was bland, at best. The sweet and sour pork was ok, however, the sauce spilled on our counter and the red food dye stained it brought red. The prawns were cooked well but were flavourless and not one of us ate our spring rolls after one person squeezed/wrung theirs out to reveal a plate full of grease.
Rate 0. Don't be tempted by the fact that they are one of the few that home deliver. Don't waste your money

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you put out cheap and greasy food, you will not keep your customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first time dining here. Because of the reviews last year, we decieded to give this place a try. Big mistake.Family ordered a combo dinner with deep fried prawns, almond breaded chicken, chow mein and a side order of BBQ pork fried rice. My husband ordered a spicy rice dish. First to arrive was just our BBQ pork rice. My husband was about to take a bite when I looked down at the dish, stopped him and noticed it was coated in scrambled egg. He is allergic to egg. The rice was made of minute rice and not cooked, and what looked like frozen vegetables, put into fast cooked rice, very tasteless. My husband's dish arrived and the rice in his dish was not cooked. I asked the waitress do you normally put lots of scrambled egg in the fried rice? My husband had what looked like something red floating in his water. The deep fried prawns and almond chicken were greasy. I had ordered sweet and sour sauce and it came in a little tiny glass container, not full. I felt like they were trying to cut back on their kitchen costs and the reviews from last year, probably had a different cook in the kitchen and a different budget. The waitress was pleasant and courteous and the place had nice decorations. We did not say anything more to the waitress about our food because when we told her about the allergy to the egg, she never offered to take it back and make us a fresh rice dish and just put it in a takeout container, when I told her that I did not want the rice, so we just paid the bill and will never go back to this place again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent taste and sevice, i will be back again really worth a try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

..wow the food presentation are excellent, really tasety and good portion. the price are reasonable. Everything are nice and fresh. i will recommend to everyone i know to go to Bamboo garden.it is on one way st. just next to CIBC bank and Home Hardware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good chinese food at a reasonable pricce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we are in Parksville for the week we always head here at least once for the ginger beef and chow mein. There is a smorg but we never have it as we love their ginger beef.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent taste and sevice, i will be back again really worth a try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I ordered of the menue...wow the food presentation are excellent, really tasety and good portion. the price are reasonable. Everything are nice and fresh. i will recommend to everyone i know to go to Bamboo garden.it is on one way st. just next to CIBC bank and Home Hardware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Garden also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bamboo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.