We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1165 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very helpful and friendly management, very comfortable apartment, beautiful outlook, and easy access to a number of excellent restaurants, the beach and great walks. We would love to return, and recommend Ocean Sands to any traveller wishing to enjoy the "Riviera of Vancouver Island"

Room Tip: Upstairs units with view of the rockies is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    63
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We travelled up from Victoria for a long weekend with our family. Our son found Ocean Sands on the Internet and booked, not knowing quite what to expect. We had a lovely apartment with a balcony overlooking the water, a magical view. The apartment exceeded our expectations, very well furnished, lovely fireplace and plenty of room with 4 adults and 2 children. the kitchen had plenty of dishes and cooking utensils and the living room was so light and airy. The management team were welcoming and lent the children their own DVD's, as we had forgotten ours. We were expecting the weather to be changeable, but overall we had sun, and amazingly saw a bald eagle retrieve a fish from the water and devour it right in front of us. a few hours were spent enjoying the walk along this beautiful beach. Ocean Sands pool opens nearer the summer which would be great for the children. Overall very good value, clean comfortable and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Asked for a room overlooking the water on a upper floor. There is an elevator outside the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Ocean Sands and were very impressed with our suite. The service was friendly and accommodating and the managers went out of their way to make it a great visit. Would definitely recommend the resort and will most certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A group of 13 recently stayed in several units. They were all clean, well maintained, beautiful and comfortable. The full-kitchen units were well-stocked with dishes, and the one studio suite was perfect for the guest who had chosen that one. The location - right on the beach - wow, the greatest! The grounds are very well kept. From first inquiries about booking for our group, through check-in and our stay, Darcy and Kristy were great. Their website has photos of the units so you can see each one - and they are as good as they look for sure. I, and I know my group members, will definitely be back to stay at the Ocean Sands Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our sports team spent the weekend at Ocean Sands Resort while we took part in a tournament. Even before we arrived the Managers Darcy and Kristy went above and beyond to ensure that each family had a suite that suited their needs. When we arrived we received the same excellent service and they even opened the pool early to accommodate all of our kids. The room we had was perfect for our family, it was clean and well stocked and the view was amazing. The grounds were pristine and large enough to accommodate our team BBQ, even with approximately 50 people. The only negative, was that we could only spend a couple of days there. We will definitely be back soon and appreciate everything that Darcy and Kristy did for us all.

Room Tip: Each room is privately owned and has different sleeping options, including some rooms with bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We didn't have the best of weather, but it didn't matter. The general appearance of the site where is is so well maintained goes a long way.

The views are fantastic, along with the amenities and helpfulness of the staff.

Excellent value for money, recommended.

Room Tip: Try & get one on the cliff edge where you will be rewarded by the most fantastic sunrise (weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room was very clean. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The staff members were very friendly and courteous. The views were remarkable. The price is well worth the stay (we stayed 5 nights). My daughter enjoyed the park and i enjoyed the view from it. I'd stay there again undoubtedly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.