We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place any time of the year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Sands Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Resort
1165 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Parksville
VICTORIA,B C
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place any time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family has been coming to Ocean Sands for the past few years. It is the perfect resort for us. My two daughters & ourselves each get a unit. This allows us to meet for meals, have bonfires on the beach & in season sit by the pool. Then we can all go back to our own units to relax & sleep. Darcy & Kristie the onsite managers have always been extremely helpful & generous of their time to our family. My husband & I have also spent a week there on our own & had a great time. Got in lots of golf as there are many courses in the area. There are some great restaurants in town & there is never lacking in things to do. We have stayed in ocean front units & poolside units. All are wonderful.

Look no further. Ocean Sands has everything you could possibly need.

Room Tip: Look online for unit pictures. All are a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
100
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I went for a relaxing break. It was everything we could ask for. Lovely walks on the beach. Close the provincial park for more walking and sightseeing . We did some day excursions to other parks and found some great restaurants. The spa on another resort is walking distance away and highly recommended. The accommodation is well laid out, lounge gas fire awesome addition and a kitchen that is well equipped. I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Came to this location with 14 family members, 6 of those were kids and this location was the perfect location to suit all of us. Kids had a great time at the pool and nearby park. Adults could enjoy the lawns for playing boci, soccer etc and long walks on the beach. Very friendly staff. Deffently will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fox creek
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in unit 40 for 5 nites. Not only was it super clean, but the on-site owner/managers, Darcy and Kristi, were totally friendly and accommodating. This resort is steps from beautiful Rathtrevor beach and it's trails for running and walking. Darcy lined up all of our golf needs and the hottub felt great after the round. The ocean is at your door step so when the tide is out, it's great to walk out as far as you can. Will definitely stay here again and recommend this resort to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of May in UNIT 31.
The location of this quiet and well manged resort is great - next to Rothtrevor Provincial Park, a short drive to Parksville with a choice of restaurants and 2 grocery stores (Quality Foods and Thrifty Foods - both with plenty of choices of food to take back to the well equipped kitchen area of the resort), an easy drive to Little Qualicum Falls, Cathedral Grove, the Old Country Store and goats at Coombs and Qualicum Beach.
Our unit was very clean and well maintained and the kitchen area had all the necessary items for simple self catering. The photos of the unit on Ocean Sands' website are accurate and if anything don't do it full justice. It is roomy and well laid out. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony to have breakfast and to relax at the end of a busy day. Our balcony overlooked the very well maintained grounds with views of the water beyond.
The manager in the office (I have lost his card with his name on) was fantastic - very friendly, helpful and very efficient - he suggested several places of interest for us to visit and then was interested to know how we got on at them - a welcome personal touch.
We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Unit 113 had endless ocean views, wonderful living room dining room, kitchen and bedrooms. Was so nice to sit in front of the fireplace and listen to the waves lapping up on the shore. The management and staff was friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend this resort and will definitely go back. Thanks for a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

On the May long week-end I turned 45. My lady had planned on a getaway to Parksville and we were trying out a new place. OMG!!!!! When we opened the door to 113, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The place was great. Two bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen, dishwasher and the table was overlooking the bay. To the people who complain on these reviews about having to go for a "Long Trek" to get coffee and towels---- Get off your fat butt and enjoy the views. Nothing but pure enjoyment from this happy camper. The manager was more than helpful, and I would recommend this place to anyone. I will be going back and these people deserve your business. If a person can whine about a place this fine, my advice to them would be---- Get a tent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.