We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chameleons

Chameleons
220 West Island Highway | Next to BMO Across from Beach Club, Parksville, British Columbia BC V9P, Canada (Formerly Cha*me*le*ons oste*ria)
250-586-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 87 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Family Fare, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped in at Chamelon's on a whim for a business lunch and found it to be an excellent choice.

I tried the seafood wrap which was brimming with fresh crab, shrimp and other delights and was accompanied by en excellent seafood chowder.

We were very impressed that the manager stopped by our table to ensure the food and service were up to par which they both were.

Service was prompt and very friendly.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food just OK, waitress and atmosphere enjoyable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went for dinner with friends during the week, there were only two other couples in the place so the restaurant felt empty. I had the seafood risotto which was a disappointment. It was not creamy and had a black tinge with not much seafood. My husband's veal was dry and the tuna starters were overcooked. The waitress was charming and I could see if it was full, it would have felt different. Our friends liked their meal and have raved about previous visits so I would probably give it another try. I thought the meal was expensive for what we received.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Bc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a good meal here tonight - reasonably priced (entrees are $15 to $25), pleasant and attentive service by both our waitress and by Tim, the manager. Limited wine selection (4 whites, 6 reds) and well priced - $5.50 to $9.00 for a glass to $24 to $39 for a bottle. It's right across the street from the pricier Pacific Prime so a good choice if staying at the Beach Club Resort and wanting something within walking distance and less high-end, both in terms of the food and the ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great affordable food in Parksville BC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've eaten a number of meals at Chameleons, the ribs, a number of their soups and the Seafood linguine. All were full of great flavour and generous with the meat/fish. This is the best resteraunt in Parksville and on par with some of the high end eateries in Naniamo. Staff and owner were very friendly and attentive. I will make this a regular place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Was expecting more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On a recent trip through Parksville we stopped at Chameleons for a quick lunch on the recommendation of one of the locals. It was an ok experience but not somewhere we would return. Place wasn't overly clean, staff friendly but not attentive and food average. My plate of soup was good but very small and didn't come with a bun or anything and actually didn't seem to have any more than what came in their cup of soup. Way over priced for what it was. Sandwiches served on great buns but were tasteless and came with strange tasting carrot salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Chameleons, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. At Chameleons, we strive for 100% customer satisfaction and encourage feedback from our clientele with each meal served. Our menu is clearly defined and any variations are explained by our service staff. We regret that your expectations were not met in this instance and would encourage a return visit. The vast majority of our testimonials have been very positive and we will continue to offer healthy meals at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleons also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Chameleons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chameleons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.