We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chameleons

Chameleons
220 West Island Highway | Next to BMO Across from Beach Club, Parksville, British Columbia BC V9P, Canada (Formerly Cha*me*le*ons oste*ria)
250-586-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 93 Restaurants in Parksville
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We rented a condo across the street and decided to check it out. I had the fresh fish of the night which was halibut and had the dill sauce. My husband had the lobster bisque and thehalf rack of sweet and sticky ribs. The meal was absolutely fantastic and the service was equally as good. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent soups!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely lunch while in Parksville. I had the black bean soup (beautifully spiced) with the vegetarian wrap (also excellent). Doug had the mushroom and leek soup (very tasty) and the Portobello mushroom sandwich (very good but messy). Lovely atmosphere. One enjoyable aspect was watching the local bridge club playing cards. They seemed to enjoy it as well! Interesting art as well - not to our taste, but interesting!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have eaten there several times and their pasta with shrimp and salmon is as good as it gets
good ribs and curry prawns

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualicum beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“you gotta eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant with its ever changing menu on a number of occasions, testing out both their lunch and dinner options. This place does not disappoint! I love the service, the flavours are fresh, robust, and typical of the season. Prices - this place is so in-expensive we simply can't understand why more people don't go there! An absolute must. I can not say one negative thing about this place! The curry is YUMMO!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great fresh food and good recovery on serving error”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a small restaurant that offers great food and friendly service. The trout was outstanding and everything is fresh and favourable. The tropical salsa set it apart as did the nice crust but tender interior.
Mistakes do happen and our appetizer did not arrive. The server apologized sincerely and gave us two deserts for one price and comped the coffees. Potions were very generous and it was good value.
They ran out of the trout even though it was early but offered steelhead at a lower price. Small is good as long as the food is good and they personalize the service. Well done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleons also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Chameleons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chameleons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.