We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a mini vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tigh-Na-Mara Resort to your Saves list
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Parksville
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place for a mini vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We love to slip away for a few days to Tigh Na Mara. We live about an hour away.....this time we were there mid week and took advantage of the half price appies in the lounge, they are very good. We also enjoyed the Cedars restaurant, excellent food and the TreeTop Tapas were we had endless Tapas, superb service and food. We always take advantage of the mineral pool and hot tub, we look forward to detoxifying, always feel so refreshed. We prefer to book a one bedroom oceanfront suite with a kitchen, however, I have two small complaints regarding the suite, the couch is far to low and soft, really gave me a backache, and the TV is too high on the wall. Having a fireplace to enjoy while we were there was wonderful, we were experiencing an artic cold spell. The staff are excellent, kudos to the spa staff, housekeeping, lounge, dining room and front desk staff, the best of service. I would like this review to be a 4 1/2 but that is not possible, the only cons were the sofa and TV, otherwise a perfect getaway :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you tricia939 for your great review. We're thrilled you love to slip away from Courtenay to Tigh-Na-Mara for mini-vacations!

Nice that you were able to dine in all of our outlets, including the newly renovated Cedars Restaurant & Lounge as well as the Treetop Tapas & Grill at the Grotto Spa. Yes the half-price appies special is very popular on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Very happy to read that your food and service were "very good/excellent/superb" each time you dined with us.

It will be my pleasure to share your kudos with our Team Members in the Grotto Spa, Housekeeping, Cedars and the Front Desk. This means a lot to us. I will also take your comments about the sofa (too low & soft) and TV (too high) into consideration.

We hope to see you again soon,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    190
    86
    58
    27
See reviews for
136
279
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Rented a two bedroom cabin on the resort side with 4 girlfriends in January 2014.

Check in quick and painless at the main building. Our cabin was 415 a hop skip and jump down the road. Ample parking right out front of each cabin and room for a picnic table. Cute porch with chairs and an ash tray. Each bedroom had a double bed, small dresser, closet and nightstand. Bathroom was basic and included a tub and blow dryer. Kitchen had a small table and chairs, microwave, fridge, stove, dishwasher, some pots and pans, and cutlery. Fire place came with lots of precursor wood and newspaper.

Grounds were beautiful and beach was down a little path between the big motelish buildings. These building have more traditional hotel rooms and are the only ones with ocean views. It was very foggy the entire weekend which offered some privacy at our cabin but left the sunrise on the beach lacking to be sure. When the tide is out you can walk for miles which I'm sure on a sunny day would be fantastic.

Shopped at the gift store and went to the Grotto Spa but otherwise didn't eat or drink at any of their services. Was surprised at how many cabins were in use in January. Can imagine in the summertime the place is jam packed and offers a bit of a different atmosphere. Is awesome pets are allowed in the cabins, always nice to see some animals when I am missing mine.

Great place but for us the ferries and two nights in the cabin cost over $900. When you add food, gas and Spa treatments, I'm not sure I couldn't find an equally nice place that wouldn't drain the bank.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Sheridan C for your review and for coming to visit Parksville from Abbotsford. Sounds like you and your girlfriends had a peaceful, relaxing spa getaway. Thank you for your comments. Tigh-Na-Mara is a unique resort - pet friendly rustic cottages with wood burning fireplaces, great beach, spa, free parking.

Sorry it was foggy while you were here. We did get a lot of fog for about a week. Overall it has been an incredibly mild winter season.

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

everytime we get on the ferry to come to resort my whole body relaxes. when we get here all I want to do Is sit on deck and look at the ocean, and walk on the quiet beach. suck a nice place to unwind. cant wait to come back..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much janelle99 for your review! We're so happy you've found a place to relax and unwind and that you look forward to your visit every time.

We look forward to your next visit too,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been here a few times and each time is better than the rest. We like to get a ocean view
room . The staff is very friendly and helpful. love that the beach is right there to walk on in the morning. the restaurant is great. JUST LOVE SPA ..relax in the grotto. wow. so quiet. would come back every month if I could afford to . but can only afford 2 times a year. hopefully this year
we will come at xmas.. thanks

Room Tip: better view from higher suites,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you janelle99 for the heavenly review! So happy that Tigh-Na-Mara can be that quick getaway from the city for you - only a couple hours away. You don't even have to drive much, can start to relax on the ferry ride over - or what we like to call the cheapest cruise around:)

Delighted that our staff is very friendly and helpful every time you visit! Sounds like you enjoy our ocean view rooms not only for the view but also because you are so close for those walks on the beach. Great to hear you love our Grotto Spa and newly renovated Cedars Restaurant & Lounge too. Very relaxing.

You know it would be okay with us too if you come to visit every month. We're here for you whenever you can make it.

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This spa resort on vancouver island is a wonderful place. Very romantic. Awesome staff all friendly and accommodating. Tapas restaurant was amazing and I'm a foodie from metro vancouver. Took a little getting used to wandering around in robes but the staff made it all very comfortable. Best massage I've had thank you Lee! Very good balance between talking and quiet attention. Spa is very good value considering you can pay for 1 treatment or session and get the grotto mineral pool and lounge included all day. The rooms were big and clean. Nice ocean view whenever the fog lifted. And the ocean beach paths were wonderfully maintained and a nice way to see the beach. After 30 years of marriage this resort is very conducive to enducing amorous experiences!!! Lol wink wink. My wife goes to a top spa in Phoenix every year and she thinks this is as good or better.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you 889988 for your wonderful review! Sounds like after 30 years of marriage a little Tigh-Na-Mara style R&R is just what the doctor ordered! It is a special place to reconnect with your wife/husband.

We strive to provide great service in a unique, natural setting that leads to good experiences and fond memories. Thank you for your comment about our "awesome staff all friendly and accommodating". This is very important to us.

I'm pleased your wife likes our Grotto Spa better than the top spa she visits annually in Phoenix. We're very proud of our spa which once again has received the #1 designation from Spas of America for Western Canada and #3 in all of Canada. I'm especially happy to read that you like the value because the Mineral Pool and Lounges are included. Lee is a very good masseur and it's my pleasure to pass on your comments. The Endless Tapas is one of our most unique experiences and a very enjoyable way to share a meal together.

I see you liked your large, clean log-style accommodation, ocean views and walks on the beach. Sounds like you had a great stay!

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is our third trip to the resort. We have always stayed in the spa bungalows but they were booked up this time. We were offered an ocean view room instead at a $20 markup. Now it would have been fine if the studio rooms offered at least the same amenities as a studio spa bungalow. Unfortunately, for our extra $20 we got a bed (albeit comfortable), one chair (there are two of us), and not a coffee table in sight to put our snacks on. At least in the bungalow there is a small couch and table. To top it all, we had to pay the extra money for a room that wasn't updated, as we later heard the spa bungalows were. We enjoy the staff. They are extremely friendly and helpful, and the spa is always our special treat to each other. We don't mind paying to stay somewhere nice, but it didn't seem altogether worth it to pay extra this time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you Tara C for making Tigh-Na-Mara Resort your 1st TripAdvisor review! Love that you've stayed with us three times now and especially that you find our Team to be "extremely friendly and helpful"! The Grotto Spa is definitely a great choice and a special way to treat each other. More and more couples are doing it.

I understand your comments about the differences in the room types. The Spa Bungalows are newer, larger and have recently been renovated. But regardless of that, there is more demand for the Ocean View rooms throughout the year (they sell better) and that is why they cost $20 more. It's the view - you just can't beat it - and proximity to the beach. Being from Victoria, maybe you already have an ocean view or it's just not as important to you or maybe it was foggy during your stay as it is today.

Our room types are very different from each other. I'm glad you have found the room type that works for you - as you like the décor and the size and the proximity to the spa - and it costs less! Sounds like great value.

That said, now that we've finished our renovation of the Spa Bungalows, we will be focusing our attention on improving the Ocean View guestrooms for the next couple years. Stay tuned.

Remember there are details and photos of all our room types available anytime on our website.
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice Suite in area by Grotto Spa...very quiet as it was off-season...splurged on jetted tub...nice.
Probably do better if Cedars Restaurant operated as a pub-style place...might get m=ore uptake...room was very nice with kitchenette and comfy king bed...pool and hot tub were well maintained...

Room Tip: If possible try to get the ocean side...we were a long way from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you Sunny222 for your review. We're thrilled you feel your stay was "quiet and relaxing" and you enjoyed your Spa Bungalow Suite with comfy king bed, jetted tub and kitchen. Yes when you stay in the Spa Bungalows it is about a 3-minute walk to the Pool House and another 3-minutes to the beach.

There are other pub-style restaurants in the area. We feel with the renovations to the cedars restaurant and lounge we have the best lounge in Parksville and our rustic contemporary cuisine is unique. It’s about creating handcrafted favourites, maintaining the integrity of the ingredients, guaranteeing freshness and using local whenever possible

Thanks again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Family Hotel in Parksville
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.