We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tigh-Na-Mara Resort to your Saves list
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Parksville
Comox Valley, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rustic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful oceanside view, nice pool, lovely beach. The room was small, although you can sit in a jet tub with an ocean view was nice. The low tides allow for a lovely walk on beautiful sandy beach, with views of amazing sunrise and sunset.

Room Tip: Recommend cabins for young families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    190
    86
    58
    27
See reviews for
136
279
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night in early November in a studio located in a two-story log building called "Jedediah". Here is a breakdown of our stay:

1. Room: Disappointing. "We paid $169 per night for this dump??" is what I blurted out to my husband when we entered the room. The queen-sized bed looked disgusting because it was lumpy all over (other reviewers have commented the same); there is no couch or sitting area apart from the cheap and worn wooden chairs; and the interior of the room was bare and outdated. The only saving grace to the room was the gas fireplace. The studio comes equipped with a kitchenette and they do provide you with the bare essentials to cook a simple meal. The walls are very thin so that at night you can hear all kinds of noises coming from your next door neighbour and from up above (our studio was on the first floor of the two-storey building). We could even hear the water being flushed from the toilet from the suite upstairs. We did not get a decent night's sleep on the lumpy bed. The pillows were lumpy and too soft, the bed itself felt like there was a dent in the middle and just the overall feeling was cheap and uncomfortable.

2. Location: Within walking distance to the beach and about 5-minute drive from major grocery stores and restaurants. I can see why families would come here with their children in the summer time but for couples looking for something romantic or special, the resort offers very little.

3. Amenities: There are indoor pools with adults-only pools available for guests and a small but decently equipped gym. We did not try the Grotto Spa onsite because we felt the prices were a bit on the high side. It costs $40 per person just to use their mineral bath and eat "unlimited tapas" but from the reviews we read online, it didn't seem like it was worth the cost. The resort offers free wi-fi which worked well during our stay.

4. Sunday brunch at the Cedar Room: In one word, it sucked even with our $5 off coupon. If you've ate at decent places for Sunday brunch buffet, you do not want to waste your time or money dining at the Cedar Room. With the $5 per person discount, the brunch was $24.95 plus gratuity and taxes. The brunch consists of the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, omelette station, pancakes, crepes and separate areas for roast beef, salad bar, seafood and dessert. You would think that based on this description the brunch isn't bad at all but trust me, the food was horrible. The seafood looked so old and dry. Nothing offered at the salad bar looked fresh. Fruits were tasteless and bruised. The cheesecake had lumps of cream cheese. The chicken and roast beef they offered were so dry. Nothing about this brunch seemed right. Take the drive down the road to Tim Hortons for a light breakfast instead.

5. Service: Mediocre at best and not memorable.

To sum up, if you are traveling without children and have some experience staying at nicer resorts and hotels, don't come here. Drive 2.5 hours further to the Wickaninnish Inn and spend a little more money for comfort and luxury. We stopped here on our way to the Wickaninnish Inn and really regretted it. This "resort" felt more like a motel at best. We will never return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The resort is a series of log cabins in a forested area on the ocean just on the outskirts of Parksville. We were located in the spa cabins which were spacious and came with a nice size living room and kitchen. The suite was perfect, roomy, clean and a comfortable bed. One morning we opened the blinds to see a deer staring in at us.

The Restaurant, Pool, gift-shop and front desk were a convenient 2 minute walk away. We did not have a view of the ocean as we selected the spa suites, but the view was spec spectacular especially when the tide was out. The spa was a wonderful experience and the Tapas bar is not to be missed. What better way is there to end a relaxing massage than with a great martini and sampling wonderful food. The main restaurant also served up some wonderful meals and there Sunday brunch was fabulous.

We stayed for a week and had no complaints. It was great having the kitchen as we were always on the go and could make a quick easy breakfast as opposed to having to go to the dining room or another restaurant. The resort was conveniently located to everything we had planned to do, salmon fishing, hiking and spending time with our son in Nanaimo. We will certainly return the next time we visit Vancouver island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. We were in a cottage and it was very well appointed. The wood fireplace was an absolute pleasure to experience in the setting. The beds were comfortable.

The team at the front desk and spa were extremely helpful and took time to share information.

The Tapas dining experience was delightful and our brunch server in the Cedar room was very attentive and caring.

Meera Vashist

Room Tip: Worth choosing the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked the girls night in package. "Custom" massages definitely not recommended. They are very generic, rushed, and not worth the money ($125 + tax!). Pedicures are quite good. Mineral pool is nice. Endless Tapas are impressive. Cedar dining room pretty good...local and fresh at least.
Accommodations are not worth the value either. Very basic and a little dirty/dated. Had to move the furniture around ourselves to access the Murphy bed in the Ocean-view suite. We weren't offered help with our bags up three flights of stairs to the room..
Reservations and administration was a disaster! They couldn't book our services on the same day so a lot of going back and forth from the room to the spa to the front desk! SO much confusion and many errors in our bill. The communication between the spa and front desk needs major work. After confirming our reservation multiple times, they wanted to charge an additional $400 at check out! We left our weekend in an argument with the front desk. Won't go back...too many other nice places to stay.
Can't believe they are rated top spa in Western Canada. I was a little embarrassed that my friend flew all the way here just to go there on my recommendation. Good thing we have a sense of humor.

Room Tip: ocean view was nice (#324) but not worth the money....sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much chowaniec for posting your comments. I am more than somewhat disappointed that you found your stay to be "somewhat disappointing".

Our Grotto Spa offers a variety of massages, at both the 60 and 90 minute options. $125 may sound expensive for an hour treatment (although not compared to other resort spas) but most guests will arrive an hour early, enjoy the Grotto Mineral Pool, then go for their treatment, and then relax in our Lounge afterwards with tea and fruit so it actually becomes 3-4 hours of relaxation and rejuvenation.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the pedicures (we're getting new pedicure chairs in January!) and the food in both the Treetop Tapas and the Cedar Room.

I'm sorry to read you didn't find value in our Girls Night In package. At $193.20-$233.67 per person for an Oceanview Suite (depending on 2-4 guests in room), that includes your accommodation, a bottle of wine on arrival, a $75 Spa credit, access to our Grotto Mineral Pool ($40 value), Endless Tapas ($49 value) in our Treetop Tapas restaurant, and all taxes. We believe there's a lot of value built in to that package.

Very sorry about any miscommunication between the Spa and Front Desk. We do strongly recommend booking spa treatments well in advance to avoid disappointment as certain treatments do book up.

We hope to see you again soon,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came here for some R and R, just my husband and I. We did get an excellent room rate. The service at check-in was really good, but there were some things that just were not what I had expected and were disappointing. I would certainly look around before I came back.

The rooms in our lodge are tired and old. Most disappointing was the fact that there was nowhere to sit except hard wooden chairs at the table or on the bed. This meant there was nowhere to sit and relax except for on the bed -- and it was lumpy! That's not going to contribute to good R and R. There were multiple problems with the tv. We even had the wrong remote control and had to wait until it was convenient for someone to come and replace it. The small tv was too far from the bed to see and hear well ...and if the fireplace was on, and the fan kicked in, we couldn't hear the tv, concentrate on a book, and felt like we were being blown from the room. Heaven help us if the bathroom fan was on too ....you are getting the picture ! Almost comedic.

We ordered "room service " pizza but had to go and pick it up and then it was undercooked.

So...while we could have stayed another night, we are moving on. Life is too short and there are so many nice places to stay in this location. An amazing spa doesn't make for a great experience when the details are missed.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm what is supplied in your room in terms of furniture if you are planning to spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you Chris W for taking the time to post your comments. I'm very happy to hear you felt your room rate was excellent, service was really good and the spa is amazing.

I will politely agree to disagree that we are "resting on our reputation". We have a very dedicated team of service professionals who work hard every day to improve both the service and the physical product at Tigh-Na-Mara. In terms of the physical product, we have reinvested over $5 million back into the resort over the past five years, and continue to reinvest every year. This is significant for an independent property while in the midst of a recession.

I'd love the opportunity to welcome you back in a different room type because I think we have everything to meet your expectations. With 15 different room types we have larger guestrooms with separate seating areas and larger flatscreen TV's if that's what you are looking for. We receive so many positive comments about our pillowtop mattresses, I'm surprised to read you felt they are lumpy. Perhaps it was our duvet as they are puffy/poofy - you can choose the word you like. Not sure I understand the statement about the remote control as we only have one type. And this year we began installing new, quieter bathroom fans. This work will continue.

Thanks again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at this facility several times and it never fails to impress me. We rent the small individual cabins that are so rustic and charming. They have everything that you need to cook and eat there but I recommend going to the restaurant at least once for dinner as it is fantastic.

This time we took advantage of the hot tub, sauna and pool facility which was nice and relaxing.

We have not had an opportunity to take in any of the spa treatments but the next time we go, I plan to include that on the itinerary.

Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.