We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Grove Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arbutus Grove Motel to your Saves list
Arbutus Grove Motel
1182 East Island Highway, Parksville, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Parksville
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Its value for the money. Nothing fancy, just a motel that was needed and used for what it is worth. It was clean and we had no troubles checking in or checking out. Looks like they did renovations before. For the price we paid, it was worth the stay, especially when surrounding hotels cost much more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
39
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We just spent a week at the Arbutus. We had a kitchen-suite and loved it! The room was very clean and comfortable. Definitely good value for money. Jackie, the motel keeper, was very helpful and friendly. We would have no problem staying there again when we come to Parksville.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just one night here but managed to get plenty of rest. The rooms were clean and of a good size with two huge beds and a good sized bathroom. As it's a little way out of the main Parksville area it is quiet but you will have to jump in the car to get food in the evening (during the day there is a nice little coffee shop just over the road). The staff were very helpful and could obviously see that we'd had a long day...managing to take care of all the details and allowing us access to the room in minutes. If you're in the area it probably is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Recently, we were visiting Vancouver Island and stopped in Parksville to spend the night. We had stayed in a different motel previously and had not been happy there. The Arbutus Grove Motel looked older but well taken care of so we stopped in. The room we had was wonderful! The rooms have been renovated in the last 2 years so you get the best of both worlds - the charm of an older motel with the conveniences of newer motels. They claim to be 'green' with AC that uses less power to low-flush toilets. They also have small but full kitchens in some of the rooms. All of the rooms have fridges, coffee pots, etc. They also have flat-screen TVs and secure, wired internet (and can supply a drop cable if you've forgotten yours).

The owners are very friendly and full of information about the area. When we asked for restaurant recommendations they pointed us at the Rocking Horse Pub - one of the best meals we had during our trip.

The Arbutus is definitely a 'keeper'! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Standard motel, close to busy road, south of town, nothing special. No one even up in the morning to check me out of my room. No wireless Internet, instead needed a cable, so only one of us could compute at a time...

What strange manipulation of Trip Advisor ratings makes this the #1 place to stay in Parksville? VIP Motel every bit as nice, has wireless and includes breakfast (of a sort).

Okay place to stay, clean, not bad, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We tracked this motel down when we arrived due primarily to the other reviews on the site, and they were spot on!

It was an incredible deal, the room was sparkling clean, and when we checked in the owner and her adorable dog couldn't have been nicer. The room had two beds and one was tucked around a wall to give a measure of privacy, and the unit had been substantially renovated to give it a great welcoming feel. Did I mention it was an incredible deal?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Clean, friendly, newly renovated rooms with memory foam on the mattresses. Under $100 a night during the peak season! Located 5 mins. south of Parksville. An easy drive into town for restaurants or the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbutus Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Grove Motel

Address: 1182 East Island Highway, Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy single story motel conveniently located on the south end of Parksville across from the Heritage Center Mall. All rooms have large flat screen TV's, coffee, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet, very comfortable beds, very quiet, close to the beach, across from restaurant, Serious Coffee, laundry mat. Lots of free parking, room for RV's. We are environmentally responsible with the newest most efficient heating and air conditioning, we also have efficient water usage without compromising the comfort of our guests. We are small dog friendly and have some kitchenettes available. We are maximum comfort and value and know you will be impressed. We receive daily compliments on our motel and work hard to make your stay everything you could want. We have just became wireless so bring your I pads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arbutus Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Grove Hotel
Arbutus Grove Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Grove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.