We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanside Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   1080 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Oceanside Village Resort in Parksville. Our last little vacation together before our 1st baby arrives soon! We stayed in one of the Cypress cottages, #166. It was just the 2 of us, but we had room for 1 or 2 other couples! The cottage had a full kitchen, living room, bathroom, and 2 bedrooms downstairs ... and then the loft had a pull-out couch and bathroom upstairs! We would love to come back one day with friends.
The cottage was clean and cozy, and had all of the amenities and things that we needed. There was a TV in the living room, another in the main bedroom, and a 3rd in the loft. The cottage even had a Wii, although we didn't have a chance to try it out!
Rathtrevor Beach is just moments away, and was a gorgeous place for a walk even in March. Riptide Lagoon minigolf is just beside the resort, and although we didn't try it out, the resort apparently has an indoor pool and exercise room. We spent much of our holiday relaxing in our cottage, exploring Coombs, visiting Little Qualicum Cheeseworks, and trying out local restaurants (see my other review for Bistro 694 - delicious!). We would definitely recommend the cottages at Oceanside Village Resort, and look forward to returning again, perhaps in the summer time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for everyone! Excellent location and all the amenities of home plus a swimming pool to exercise! If you like going for walks endless paths and trails near the beach. Excellent customer service and prompt attention to details. Choice of pet or pet-free rooms. On site beauty salon and coffee shop!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Oceanside for 10 nights. It was a wonderful experience even though it was during the off season. The place was immaculate, comfortable and had everything that we asked for. We stayed at cottage # 260 and would absolutely stay in again. It had 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Arbutus model on a one floor plan. Parksville and the surrounding area is a wonderful place to live and visit. Its too bad we weren't here during the summer to enjoy the sand castle competition but we were still able to enjoy the beach, collect seashells and had a fabulous time. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool and so did we. The hot tube was also very enjoyable. I gues one good thing about off season is that we had the resort and the beach mostly to ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquique, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at Oceanside Village Resort over Christmas - 2 couples rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Arbutus model cottage. It was cold, windy and rainy outside, but we were very comfortable in Cottage #263, which is nicely furnished, has a well-equipped kitchen, has comfortable beds, and is extremely clean.

We felt lucky to have such an attractive place to spend our Christmas, as other friends stayed in a larger cottage at Oceanside, which was not as well-kept or as nicely furnished.

Room Tip: I recommend cottage 263.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 2 weeks all over BC and Oceanside was just about the middle of our trip. It was so nice to just relax and BBQ dinners, relax on the deck and wander the beach (we were here during the sand castle competition and that was a good bonus). The cottage is very spacious and nicely decorated etc. Nice and close to MacMillan Park (Cathedral Grove) and Little Qualicum Falls. Oceanside was a highlight of our trip (and we had a great trip).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came to Oceanside for a quick adult getaway for an anniversary. We don't get away often and it was just what we needed. QUIET relaxation in a lovely cabin, clean and well appointed. So many amenities close by, great dining. We will definitely come again either as a couple or family to enjoy some trails and attractions in Parksville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived Friday evening and what a lovely surprise. Usually when you view a rental online the pictures are quite impressive, but not accurate of what you get. Not Morning Glory! From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and made ourselves at home. I got the (gas) fireplace going to warm up dad, who we like to take on little adventures, and got us all unpacked and settled in. The complimentary bottle of wine was a lovely added touch, as were the bath robes. Two floors gave our son, who joined us, a little privacy and the sofa bed he slept on upstairs was so comfortable he said he slept from the time his head hit the pillow until he woke up in the morning. Having a second bathroom with shower was also a bonus as there were four of us. Washer and dryer was also a nice surprise, , as it was nice to launder the bedding and towels before we left. The dishwasher was also a pleasant surprise but we hardly used it during our stay. Only complaint was the coffee pot was not cleaned by the previous tenant, nor did they dump their coffee grinds, bus as the policy is quite clear, I basically blame the previous tenants for not ensuring everything was left as it was found. Also several glasses were dirty, one wine glass had a very big water ring, but I am one of those people who do like to wash the dishes, utensils, etc before using any how. We were close enough to Parksville, it was a five minute drive to Lefty's (review to follow), and the government liquor store and shopping centers. We make use of our time when in the area by taking a drive to Coombs Market, but sadly the goats were not on the roof during our stay, as they bring them in after Thanksgiving. Morning Glory, the cottage we stayed at, sleeps 8, however I think for a more comfortable stay 6 people (3 couples) would be better. There is a tv in master bedroom as well as the loft and the living room, so if you are a late nighter, you can watch t.v. and not disturb any one. A private deck, with patio table,chairs and bbq completed the cottage. The price? Unbelievable! Off season was $120 per night, with a pet fee for our dog. Even the high season was quite affordable. Parksville is such a beautiful spot to visit, and we will definitely keep Morning Glory at the top of our list for places to stay. Almost forgot, there is a swimming pool and a full spa as well as a lovely Japanese Tea house. Across the street we went to the pub at Beach Acres. What a darling place, but quite the busy spot.

Room Tip: There is no "room service" during your stay, but we like the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Village Resort

Address: 1080 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Village is a convenient Parksville resort situated on a beautiful 15 acre property offering various styles/sizes of new cottages sleeping from 1-8 persons in Parksville's resort area. Each cottage boasts all the comforts of home, coming fully equipped with 6 appliances, 2-3 TV's, DVD players, large open concept rooms with vaulted ceilings and field stone fireplaces. Enjoy the outdoors on your front and back decks which come with patio furniture and your own BBQ. This unique development features thoughtfully designed luxury cottages within easy walking distance to nearby lush forest trails and miles of sandy beaches to explore Rathtrevor Provincial Park. Located within our Resort is an indoor pool with hot tub and fitness centre. Also a Day Spa & Salon, Tea/Coffee House & Clothing Boutique. Riptide Lagoon Adventure Park is located next door and our area also hosts four first class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Village Hotel Parksville
Oceanside Village Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.