We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Modern Family Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Village Resort to your Saves list
Oceanside Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   1080 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Modern Family Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our second time staying at Oceanside Village Resort. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin with loft. The cottages are modern, comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything needed to prepare our meals and there were plenty of towels and linens for our family of four. We enjoyed cooking on the gas BBQ and it was so handy to have a washer and dryer in the cottage. We enjoyed playing at the Riptide Mini-Golf which was a short walk from our cottage. There is an indoor pool, a coffee shop and spa nearby. We'll be sure to stay at Oceanside Village Resort if we're back in Parksville!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
83
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Normally we stay at the BeachClub Resort, but this trip we had our fur-baby with us and they don't allow pets, so we thought we'd try Oceanside and we were very pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in cottage 109, 2 bdrm, 1 loft/den and 2 baths. It was very spacious and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed - and we cooked for 12 one night and 10 on another. The BBQ was clean and worked well (and got good use!) The bed we slept in was comfy. Nice patio with an umbrella table and 4 chairs - it got lots of use too.

We didn't use the washer/dryer, but one is in the cottage. The staff was very friendly and helpful on arrival.

The forest setting was nice for a change - and lots of windows, so it wasn't too dark on the grey days. The location is great for kids with the mini golf right there.

My one complaint - and it's a small one - is that the fridge is located in a really awkward spot. The awkwardness could be eased a bit if the fridge door opened the other way. It's very 'in your way' when it's open.

We liked it all so much, we stayed an extra day! We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a fantastic place for family and friends to go on a vacation. We come here a few times a year and love Oceanside! The resort is directly across from Rathtrevor beach and has a great indoor pool/hot tub! The landscaping is well maintained and the property is always neat and tidy. Love being able to cook up great meals and serve them indoors or outside on the patio.. The kitchens are spacious and well equipped and there are great washers/dryers in each unit. Just like a home away from home!

The cottages vary in style and decor as the units are individually owned and have their own unique touches. Some are geared towards families and children (I would ask when booking as they have beach towels, pails/shovels, games etc).

The housekeeping staff keep the units very clean and linens are always well stocked. Fantastic facility and keep coming back for a reason!

Room Tip: There are two sides to the complex.. older side is close to the pool and the mini-golf is adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday last March (2011) and I was so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The units are clean!, well stocked, huge, and comfortable. I particularly love having a kitchen in a place we stay because we have a child and it's just easier for us as a family. The cottage we stayed in allowed our dog and that was just wonderful. For the price of a hotel, we had so much freedom. I loved walking my dog around the complex and down the street. It's not far from a beach, but yes, it's not ON the beach. However, you get spoiled with what you are renting compared with other places. We all slept peacefully and the grounds were quiet and well kept. I don't think I'd recommend staying in a cottage directly on the street side. I would give this place a 5 star, but the pool was very cold. It was March and not warm outside by any means, so the pool should really have been heated to at least two degrees warmer. It was cold - I didn't go in it and my 5 year old and husband couldn't stand it for too long before they ended up in the hot tub with me. Other guests were complaining about this too, so it wasn't just us. However, overall, the place was amazing and we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

For our family of 4 adults, we got the Arbutus, the smallest kind of cottage. It has a well-equipped kitchen, a BBQ, and wonderful patio set. At night, it was great to sit outside to star-gaze. I find that the mattresses in the cottage, including the sofa bed, are way too soft. I had back pain after sleeping on them. I guess this is really personal preference. Another draw back of the cottage is that it only has 1 bathroom. It was quite inconvenient for the 4 of us. Otherwise, it's a nice place and comfortable place to stay. It's also very close to downtown Parksville, where the restaurants and grocery stores are.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is our second year out here and have even asked for the same cottage we had last year. The place is fairly new so everything is clean and modern. It is fairly close to Rathtrevor beach which is a great place for kids to place as you can literally walk 1km into the ocean during low tide, so lots to explore and many sea creatures to play with. Lots to do in the area as there's mini-golf, bumper boats, lots of great trails and quaint little stores and shops. The price is decent, but don't expect to be waited on hand and foot as some reviewers have expected, this is a great family vacationing spot, in fact we've always had 3 other families here with us and the kids have a blast. Will be coming back for years to come...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Super nice cottages. And a real bonus to be able to bring a pet. I really studied all the various places that I would be able to take my dog with me, and this was by far the nicest place to go. (my lab had been sick with a stomach ulcer and I wanted to keep her with us). The cottages are close together but offered enough privacy and very clean, modern, very well equipped.
I do think the check out time of 11am with having to clean dishes, and strip the beds makes things a bit tight; a 12 noon check out time would have been a lot nicer.
Super nice pool on sight, as well as fun mini golf course. A fantastic sushi place with a friendly lady running it.
It isn't beach front...the beach is a good 15 minute walk away, but still for a family friendly, very nice 'own' cottage vacation, this is great!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Village Resort

Address: 1080 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Village is a convenient Parksville resort situated on a beautiful 15 acre property offering various styles/sizes of new cottages sleeping from 1-8 persons in Parksville's resort area. Each cottage boasts all the comforts of home, coming fully equipped with 6 appliances, 2-3 TV's, DVD players, large open concept rooms with vaulted ceilings and field stone fireplaces. Enjoy the outdoors on your front and back decks which come with patio furniture and your own BBQ. This unique development features thoughtfully designed luxury cottages within easy walking distance to nearby lush forest trails and miles of sandy beaches to explore Rathtrevor Provincial Park. Located within our Resort is an indoor pool with hot tub and fitness centre. Also a Day Spa & Salon, Tea/Coffee House & Clothing Boutique. Riptide Lagoon Adventure Park is located next door and our area also hosts four first class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Village Hotel Parksville
Oceanside Village Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.