We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and enjoy good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starboard Grill

Starboard Grill
2 _ 5440 Argyle Street, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 1T7, Canada
778-421-2826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 77 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We've been here in different occasions and it never disappoints. Good food, good service, very happy staff and nice view. My husband loves to try different dishes but I order the same every time, my fave Hotpot seafood curry. We always leave the restaurant with happy faces and tummies. I love that Port kept this place close to the Marina.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My friend and I went for dinner and as she cannot eat a lot of food, for medical reasons, we usually share one meal. I am on a gluten free diet and was very pleased when the waitress advised us of the soup which was gluten free. I ordered this and it was delicious. On the menu was fish and chips but as I didn't want the batter asked if I could have potato flakes on the cod, which was on another menu item, and this was no problem. I can't say enough about the service and pleasant atmosphere being right on the inlet. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Local hidden gem, very enjoyable, excellent portions & service. This is a place that all of us traveller's look for. Thanks to the chef & staff for an excellent evening. Well done ...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Classy Dinner Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We ate here recently with friends and once again enjoyed a lovely meal. Port Alberni has a lot of restaurants for it's size, but it's hard to find a place in Port Alberni to go for a nice, classy dinner out. Starboard Grill delivers this, from the white tablecloths, sparkling silverware and candlelight, the wine list, and then there's the food! The menu is not large, but the selections are varied and every dish is prepared with love and care. The four of us all ordered different items, and we all very much enjoyed our meals and the attentive and personable service from the staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I can't say enough about this place! This was my first time to Port Alberni, and my friends took me to Starboard for lunch.

The Candied Salmon Chowder was awesome! Also, I really enjoyed the calamari and the fish taco wrap!

The staff was extremely personable and did an excellent job serving us.

I love the view from our table! I can hardly wait until I return to Starboard and to Port Alberni!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starboard Grill also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Starboard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starboard Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.