We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & AMAZING Staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Beaver Creek Road, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Lions Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place & AMAZING Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great experience. The staff and owner were absolutely outstanding and the room was newly renovated.......very clean, cozy, and nicely decorated. Great location as well, right near town and the highway. I was also lucky enough to get a sneak peek of what the new pub will look like, which will be opening soon, and it's absolutely beautiful! I only wish it had already been open when I was there, so that I could have experienced it! Just another reason to go back and stay there again, which I definitely would! :)

Room Tip: Room 315 is nice and quiet as it's on the top floor of the hotel and at the very end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
38
18
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and I can honestly say the hospitality given to us by the staff was exceptional. I have stayed throughout hotels in the US and Canada and can say the staff here went above and beyond my expectations. The location of the hotel was great. It was centrally located on the island allowing enjoyable day trips to be taken out to both Tofino / Uculet, and also up towards Port Campbell. The rooms were generous in size with comfortable beds, nice furnishings, continental breakfast, WiFi internet and amenities included. The rooms were quite and allowed a nice restful sleep for the both of us. We enjoyed our stay here and were so impressed by the staff. Every question was answered, every request was undertaken. The room lighting was a bit low, so no problem an extra lamp was provided. There was no mistaking the high quality of the staff - by far the best and most accommodating so far on our 7 month holiday. Thanks to all - you guys really made our time at the HoJo Port Alberni so very pleasant and we want to thank you so much for going out of your way for us throughout our stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have a good view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Like other people who came to the region, I stayed here for 2 nights because it was considerably cheaper than staying on the coast while exploring Pacific Rim NP. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and it's not a bad drive to the coast. If you want more than that from a hotel, I'd look elsewhere. One other suggestion: make sure and stock up at Port Alberni before heading west. Tofino doesn't have a whole lot of services.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We googled this hotel as the only reasonably priced accommodation option for the Pacific Rim National Park. In case you would do to same, please bear in mind it is still a long way to get to Tofino and its surroundings, but if you dont mind absence of anything of touristst interent in the city and approx 2 hours drive to Pacific Rim, The HoJo really is your place. Hotel itself was the best deal we found on our Canadian trip, and is very well looked after and very clean.
Our room was a pleasant and quite one, with comfortable beds and nice little bathroom. They offered everything we needed and breakfast was very nice, even served on real plates and cups, no plastics at all! Overall we were sorry that most motels in Canada we slept in (for much more money sometimes...) are no match to this one...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed a total of two nights in August 2011 at the Howard Johnson hotel in Port Alberni, BC. The staff were exceptional. Very friendly, accommodating and helpful for info for surrounding area. The breakfast was nice but not extensive including cold cereal, fresh fruit, toast, juice, coffee and tea. We were welcomed to relax and enjoy breakfast with our friends even though we were sliding past the 10am time that they closed for breakfast. We needed a cot for an extra person and received one without difficulty though with the usual $10/night fee. The queen beds were comfortable. Downside of the room is that the air conditioner blows across the bed nearest to the window. We travelled with our family of three teenagers and had two other families also staying at the hotel. We were accommodated with rooms close to each other on both the nights we stayed at the hotel. Our group ocean kayaked for almost two weeks out in the Broken Island group and took the Port Alberni Lady Rose Ferry to get there. It is a beautiful 4 hour sail on a most unique ferry boat launched in 1958. It houses a galley kitchen that can keep teenagers full and offers gorgeous views of the passage as well as a whale sighting or two if you are lucky! A very worthwhile ride and a definite must do in Port Alberni.

Room Tip: We preferred the upper rooms on the second or third floor as we found them quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful front desk person and throughout our stay (of one night) we encountered friendly staff.

We wish the hotel would do more to upgrade the rooms. At first glance the room seemed dark and shabby, the coverlet looked 10 years old, the TV was ancient and there was a window airconditioner which i didn't think existed anymore. However on closer look we discovered the furniture was quite new, and the sheets although kind of thin, were very clean. The bathroom was spacious and clean, the towels were very nice. There were however peeled veneer on the door, a switch that did not turn anything on, stains along the tub caulking and in the wash basin, and a poorly filled patch on the wall.

Would we come back? Probably not but we will miss the friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The room was clean and quiet. Beds not the best for comfort but all in all not bad

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Road, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.