We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable; friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4277 Stamp Ave., Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable; friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed one night while on a driving tour of the area. Absolutely no complaints. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, on-site restaurant had a good breakfast. Very helpful staff allowed us to check in early & leave luggage in our room while we were away fro the day. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear 373Barb123373,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We were happy to accommodate your requests for an early check-in and to store your luggage. We also appreciate your comments about Stamps Café, it has become a favourite among locals and guests from out of town alike.

Again thank you for taking the time, and should your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    80
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
52
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Hardy, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a hockey tournament, staff was very friendly and very accommodating. Restaurant was great value and offered a nice variety of choices, great specials! Overall, I was very happy with this hotel, it was very kid friendly! I will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Kere_M59,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

It was a pleasure to have you and the other hockey teams at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel for the recent tournament. We were happy to see the young players enjoying the amenities of the hotel such as the pool and hot tub after a day on the ice. We received many wonderful comments from parents such as yourself as they were leaving.

Again thank you for taking the time, and should your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference held there. Although there were a large number of us arriving on the same day, the front desk staff were very welcoming and efficient, and there were no waits to check in. My fourth floor room was well equipped, clean and comfortable with a very good bed. The hotel was full and I was impressed with how quite the room was dispute the crowds. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but had all my meals in the banquet facility. The food was excellent with emphasis on local products, and the service was exceptionally friendly and efficient. This is not a new hotel, and some of the furnishings were a bit dated, but I found it to be very good value, comfortable, quite, and any shortcomings were more than made up for by the friendly and helpful staff. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Port Alberni and would definitely recommend the Barclay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Barry N,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We have received many wonderful comments from guests who attended the same conference, and we feel proud to have been able to showcase many of the local attractions and local cuisine to such an esteemed group. We hope you got to take advantage of some of the side trips which were offered for the conference attendees.

Again thank you for taking the time, and should your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Customer service is too notch. Fitness center is sufficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The overall experience is average, breakfast is not included, but you are encouraged to eat at the onsite restaurant. Simple toiletries are available for the unprepared overnight guest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Clover_55,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive to provide excellent service to our guests and I am proud to work with my team to that result.

When your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we will be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Called up the hotel for their corporate rate which beat the online rate by quite a bit. Located just south of the main city center, this 5 story hotel is quiet with very good quality beds, and strong showers. Wifi internet could be faster but overall a good stay. Onsite pub is available but we didn't use it, however breakfast in the restaurant was quite good and moderately priced. Fitness area was good, with a large hottub and sauna as well. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top (5th) floor is recommended, corner room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear yvrtravelguy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our fitness centre has received very good reviews from many guests, some of which just enjoy the hot tub after a long day. We like to ensure our guests get a good night sleep, and to this we have recently upgraded our beds and bedding.

When your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we will be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The beds in this hotel are extremely comfortable. A very good sleep experience! I always look forward to a great sleep in this hotel!! Stay in this hotel every time I work in Port Alberni. All hotels should have these beds and the bedding - very comfy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sylvie5937,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced a wonderful nights sleep. We have recently upgraded our bed linens and have very high quality beds in our rooms. We have many other upgrades to enhance our customers stay with us planned for the future as guest satisfaction is our goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

When your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we will be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Best Western Plus Hotel in Port Alberni was disappointing in several ways. It didn't seem to compare with others in that category at all. Breakfast was not included in the price and there was no group rate available to us when we registered but others in our group received a better price than the senior's rate that we were charged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear deejay2789,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We hope you enjoyed your high school reunion, after so many years it must be incredible to catch up with old friends. We do not offer a complimentary breakfast included in our room rates, but instead offer a full service restaurant that provides great food at reasonable prices. We have many guests who have told us they prefer this option as opposed to having to select from a limited buffet. Your group did not qualify for the group rate because you did not have the minimum number of rooms required to receive the special rate, one of your guests did receive a lower rate due to an incorrect rate code entry, and we honoured the rate even though it was given in error.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Ave., Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.