We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Fall visit. Sept 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princeton Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Princeton Castle Resort to your Saves list
Princeton Castle Resort
375 Rainbow Lake Road, Princeton, British Columbia V0X 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Princeton
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fall visit. Sept 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in one of the two storey (one bedroom on main and a "loft" bedroom upstairs) log cabins. Deer were hanging around as we pulled in and we walked down to the horse barns on a warm mid Sept afternoon. The site is really beautiful. It is dry and arid which we love and very much representative of the BC interior. Scrubby pines and lots of room to roam. The log cabin was very comfortable. We did not cook there but only had coffee in the morning because we went to a very nice restaurant with live entertainment in Hedley for dinner. It is about a 45 minute drive further east- very small town and the restaurant was an unexpected treat. I would like to go back to Princeton Castle Resort and stay again in the summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

In the past the Princeton Castle Resort was a real gem. Now, due to lack of maintenance, the resort is crumbling in on itself. The place is under new management, and they are doing everything they can do to bring this place back to where it was, however the following is what we experienced: We rented a "cabana" and I was fully expecting a truly rustic "shack", but the front window in the door was missing, the drapes looked like they hadn't been changed in years and the mattresses were really dirty. Like the last reviewers experience; the atmosphere where the cabanas are located (along with the teepees and RV parking) was chaotic, dirty (loads of trash was piled up), and there were a lot of people drinking and settling in for a long night of partying. We upgraded to a less rustic cabin, but again, the upkeep is lacking and the mattresses, floors, even the walls and doors were filthy. The pool was not filled. The grounds look nothing like they do on their website. On the upside, the location of the cabin was great. It was quiet, close to the toilets (but again, the toilets were pretty disgusting) and it was tucked next to the creek and the cement plant ruins, so it was quite pleasant; especially with the deer "frolicking" next to the cabin. I found this stay quite sad, because it's a lovely place with loads of potential, but the lack of maintenance made this a "miss" in my books. With all of that said, I would probably return in the future, to stay in a chalet or cabin, in the hopes that it's been restored and brought back up to the high standards from the past.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a cabin or chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

The setting is nice and a short trip to Princeton. The resort looks like at sometime it was quite nice but needs major work!! Really rundown and not a relaxing experience. We were up till 3 am with people drinking and screaming. The RV park is very load and full of people drinking. Not a good atmosphere for family camping. When I asked the owner if there was a sound bylaw at some time at night and she shrugged and said "around 12", not good when you have kids or want a relaxing time. The cabins are about 200-500 per night and I don't think you should have to be up till R am paying that. There is very little hot water and the swimming lake is quite dirty. We did brave a dip but had a shower asap. Anyway, we will not be back. This would be a great place for a party but not fun for families or couples going to relax.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I love Princeton Castle Resort. I stayed there once before and I loved it then too. There is so much to do and see. The "ruins" are right there in the middle of the resort. It is so majestic and reading up on the history is very interesting. It is a wonderful place to get away for just two on a romantic getaway or for the whole family. The grounds have a huge variety of accommodation options. This time we stayed in the apartment. The people in the hall were terribly noisy late at night. Other than that it was very nice. One time we stayed in the mid size chalet. It was great. The price is reasonable and it was very comfortable. We could have shared with another couple. The staff were kind enough to give us a tour. The one room chalets are quite large and very romantic. The large chalet would be awesome for a big group. They have lovely campsites up the hill and TeePees and little rustic cabanas for people who want the camping experience. We were very impressed with the public showers area and even a community kitchen for campers to share. There is even a sweet little church right beside their own private lake. They have lots of fun water toys and a nice clean beach...no lake itch or leeches. I definitely plan to go there again and bring friends.
The playground is a really good size with a good variety of things for kids to do. And they have horseback riding ON SITE. Very cool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princeton Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Castle Resort

Address: 375 Rainbow Lake Road, Princeton, British Columbia V0X 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Princeton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Princeton Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeton Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.