We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice events, good location near transport, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
400 Second St W, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Nice events, good location near transport, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I arrived here on thanksgiving and was given a great welcome by the staff and checked into one of the private rooms here,, The people staying there was varied and welcoming and the rooms are very clean and central to downtown,
The only gripe was that the front desk closes at 10.00pm, not giving me much time to check in,,

Great building and great thanksgiving meal eh?

Unique Qualities: The quiet and charming town of Revelstoke is located midway between Vancouver and Calgary at the western gateway to Banff, Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay, Glacier and Mt. Revelstoke National Parks. Just minutes from the world’s finest mountain adventure, natural hot springs, glacial hikes, alpine meadows of wildflowers, world-class mountain biking, powder skiing and natural pristine wilderness beauty.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
3
5
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This hostel is in a great location, and is defiantly the right price!

The dorm rooms are super small though, and so are the kitchens...come to think of it, mostly everything in this place is small!!!

If you can afford it, or are traveling with a group of 3/4 people, get yourself a private room, the beds are way more comfortable!

The staff are great, and it was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al berta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We found this hostel old and dirty. As referred in the title, a building could be old but it doesn't have to be dirty.
The rooms were small, kitchen with no dishes to cook with, bathrooms looked like they haven't seen a broom in years.
My alarm clock felt on the floor and I was looking for it under the bed I found dirty underwear that weren't mine. Overall my family agreed we weren't going to come back here.

  • Liked — nothing, I could not wait to get home
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

This place was pretty cheap, and very basic. We were in a private room, which we entered from the hallway using a key. But it had another door opening directly to the back with no lock on it at all. Seemed a bit silly. We left our stuff in the car that night.
Nothing special here and nothing terrible. No probs staying for the night. The bed was comfy, the kitchen was grubby, the place was very casual.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

The samesun hostel in Revelstoke is okay as hostels go. Seems to be as clean as hostels get, but the place and the rooms are very cramped. My main gripe is that the rooms contain no storage, shelving, lockers or anything. My room (shared by 4) had two hooks on the wall and there is not a lot of floor space to put anything either. Kitchens are also cramped but they have a few of them. Also, don't get a room directly off the kitchen as they are fairly noisy!
The hostel is a fair price. They have free wifi, though you have to put up with an ad page popping up every 5 minutes when you browse. Close proximity to town. Staff were friendly, though the owners can be a bit surly.
Was a fun place to stay as lots of skiiers were passing through for the new hill.

  • Liked — Cheap. Social place. Good location. Only hostel in town.
  • Disliked — Cramped rooms. No storage. Lack of security for belongings.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We have never stayed at a SameSun Backpackers Lodge (a hostel, really) before. There are several (Kelowna is another location).

Friendly front desk staff (two Australian ladies where were very pleasant and helpful).

We stayed 2 nights in a private room (small narrow room- 1 double bed and a set of bunk beds). First night- room very hot. Second night- room cooler.

Beds are a bit older (what can I expect for $45 plus $10 tax = $55/night)? Beds looked basically clean. No bite marks :)

Bathrooms- very clean. LOTS of hot water.

Easygoing residents. A couple of young people (one in dreadlocks) said hi to us, as we had a game of pool upstairs. An older man in his 60's shyly and respectfully said hi too. It is nice in a hostel, because you really don't feel so isolated and alone.

Darts and other games there. Furniture, unfortunately is very old and very torn. I did not feel comfortable sitting on it long.

Kitchens (there are 2 on each floor I think) were pretty clean. Some people really do need to do their dishes. Staff did clean up the area.

Keys - $10 deposit. Got back when gave them back.

Bottom line- it was a cheap stay. We should have tried to cook a bit- but even though the kitchens were ok, I just didn't feel like doing so. We kind of ate out of the car, and ate in restaurants ($80/day in food costs).

Often, we go to Holiday Inn Express hotels (free breakfast worth $40- in our view because of tax and tip, and free coffee, fruit and buns for coffee break worth $10). There are no Holiday Inn Expresses in Revelstoke. I think some Mariotts also have free breakfasts.

Hint- if you can get a free breakfast, you may do just as well as staying in a hostel. But- do the math.

WE ENJOYED OUR STAY WITH SAMESUN IN REVELSTOKE. It was a nice experience, and took me back to when I hosteled in Europe. I guess sometimes we can go (a little) back in time.

Happy travels dear fellow trip advisor fans!!:)

  • Liked — We could get the Halcyon Hot Springs Pool - That is why we really went to Revelstoke.
  • Disliked — Room too hot the first night. Cost savings made me forget this thought.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 400 Second St W, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.