We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal since arriving Canada 2 weeks ago.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woolsey Creek Cafe

Woolsey Creek Cafe
600 2nd St. West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2SO, Canada
2508375500
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Revelstoke
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal since arriving Canada 2 weeks ago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What an absolute surprise. It came as a recommendation from our B&B hosts in Kelowna (Louise & Andy at Lakeshore B&B). The place was busy on a rainy October Monday night, and for good reason. The Venison Terrine was wonderful and the wine recommendation from the lovely waitress - a Covert Farm Ameriticio - was spot on. However our main meals were superb - I had the Venison cutlet which melted in your mouth, and the sauce reduction and vegetables were stunning. My wife had the Lamb Shank, and again it was melt in your mouth falling off the bone delicious. Even though we were full, we forced ourselves to have dessert, and we were not disappointed. I had the Creme Brulee which was spot on, and my wife had the Chocolate Mouse which while it looked heavy eas really light and airy.
You must eat here when in Revelstoke!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    43
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Date night with a home run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Revelstoke has the strangest setup for businesses, as they are located in all weird little nooks in the City. this one was no different that way, but wow, what a surprise. everyone we asked in Revi about, where to go for a romantic and killer date night dinner, all pointed here. So we caved in and let our arm be twisted to the masses. Thank goodness! everything about it from the service , appies, main, wine list etc etc, was off the charts. We eat out a lot, but this was by far one of the best meals we have ever stuffed our faces with. Linda had the Tuna, I had the Jam Bolya. huge portions and the flavours were outstanding. We ate, drank wines had dessert and it still came in just under $100

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Dinner we've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in Revelstoke for one night seeking out a decent dinner with no real exceptions of greatness. Wow were we pleasantly surprised. This little cafe was really excellent. We live in Portland Oregon where food is king and Woolsey Creek Cafe would do well here. I had duck confit that was simple delicious and my husband had beef ravioli which was wonderful. This was a great find!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Farm fresh, local produce, rich & balanced flavours, generous though not gluttonous servings, friendly & attentive service, an ambient atmosphere by a log fire - what more could you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and unpretentious place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place came highly recommended by both TripAdvisor and the B&B we stayed at, and it lived up to the billing. The restaurant itself is unprepossessing from the outside, and quirkily decorated on the inside, but don't let that put you off. The staff are welcoming, the service excellent, and the food is fantastic. If the container matched the contents, the menu prices would have to be twice as high.

We can recommend the Rosemary Meatballs and the Tuna Poke from the starters menu, the Wild Salmon and the Beef Ravioli from the entrees menu, and the Chocolate Truffle Cake and the Tiramisu from the dessert menu. All of them were fantastic, and the "chardonnay caviar" was a fun molecular addition to the salmon.

We made a reservation, though it was quiet on a Saturday night in mid-September. At any time of peak activity in the area - winter for skiing, summer for camping - I would be sure to reserve to avoid disappointment. And we will definitely eat here again, the next time (and maybe every time!) we're in Revelstoke again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolsey Creek Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Woolsey Creek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolsey Creek Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.