We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Fresh and very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe

The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe
212 Mackenzie Ave., Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
250.837.6886
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Fresh and very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Whilst staying in Revelstoke, we stumbled across The Modern and were really surprised how good and homely this place was. The service was excellent, the food was fantasic and they offered a range of freshly brewed coffees.

Out the back of the cafe you can see into the kitchen where we saw the fresh cakes and breads being made from scratch and made with love.

We thought this cafe was so good we went back fro lunch 3 days running!

When we were there there was also a children's birthday party where all the kids were being taught to make cupcakes. They all looked like they were having a gerat tima and it looked a great venue for a kids party.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast BC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Head Off The Highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

On a recent road trip from Vancouver to Calgary, we wanted to stop for a morning coffee. On the main road it is mostly chain restaurants so we turned into downtown Revelstoke to give this cafe a try.
Firstly it was the best cup of coffee I have had on a long time! Superb! They made lovely sandwiches and their sandwich special was very flavourful. I tried a piece of their red velvet cake which was very rich and tasty.

I highly recommend this as a good stopping place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

You always know the food is going to be great here. Always a great selection. The prices for food are fairly good but some of the drinks are a little higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm a local and stop in at the Modern frequently. The Modern is a great place to stop for a mid week lunch. They are very busy on Saturdays in the summer (market day). The hours aren't terrific - they don't open up very early, and are closed on Sundays. But I'm sure that's good for the people who work there.

The baked goods are always terrific. They sell wrapped homemade energy bars and wraps which are great to take on a bike ride or hike. The brownies are melt in your mouth fabulous. Everything is always super-fresh. Revelstoke is lucky to have a great selection of bakery-cafes. They all seem to have a slightly different twist, so it's hard to pick a favourite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So good had to go twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just walking down the street and stopped in with 3 buddies and we all got different desserts and I got an Affogato with vanilla bean galati and it was excellent. On the way back from the coast we made sure we came back and had an excellent panini and another Affogato.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.