We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the highway fast food and have lunch here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe

The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe
212 Mackenzie Ave., Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
250.837.6886
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 restaurants in Revelstoke
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Skip the highway fast food and have lunch here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow! Awesome food at excellent prices and great atmosphere. Lunch, baked goods and coffee were all excellent. Even if you’re not staying in Revelstoke, this place is worth a stop off Highway 1.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    68
    24
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing beats a local bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Dropped into Revelstoke on our way to Vancouver in search of a mid morning coffee. It was a Sunday and there wasn't much life in town but the lovely country bake house smells caught our attention. A quick glance through the window confirmed that this was the place to be, a large selection of breads on the wall and treats in the counter display, all the tables and booths looked full and there was a queue for counter service. Luckily we found a booth at the back, ordered our drinks and some bread and took our seats to soak up the atmosphere. The coffees were good and strong ( we chose the dark roast) and were surprised to get a bit of latte art. The hot chocolate got the thumbs up from the junior member of the party. We also liked the self service filtered water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great bread and breakfast paninnis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I shop here a lot, the breads are always fresh and organic, the food is always tasty and the sweets are delicious,.
The lineups are a bit much but worth the wait as you always get to visit with at least one other local.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truely homemade goodies !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Coming from the European side of the globe, we are sometimes having a hard time to find real bakery goodies in North America. Was positively surprised to find that gem while on my vacation trip. Had a brownie that was fabulous - no comparison to a standard brownie you might know - soft, not too sweet, rich in flavor - yummi !! They also serve savory sandwiches, vegie dishes, ... With the Latté you have a choice of dark or medium roast and one gets a little piece of arts on top of it. Will miss that spot for sure - don't find these very often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not your average bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Bought 2 treats from this bakery and after the first bite realized this was no ordinary bakery! Very talented bakers for sure! Also, all the tests were beautifully decorated! Delicious baked goods, bread looks amazing and great service! Yumm! We are heading back there tomorrow morning before we get back on the road!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.