We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Revelstoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minto Manor
Save
You added Minto Manor to your Saves list
815 McKenzie Avenue | P.O. Box 3089, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Revelstoke B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Victorian B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We and another couple stayed one night at this imposing Victorian house which stands grandly on a quiet street within walking distance to downtown Revelstoke. There was plenty of free parking. The owner Edna Mae is a delight: she was very welcoming when we arrived, and on the following morning sat with us at the elegant and substantial breakfast and talked to us about the house and the town. There are 3 bedrooms in total, all of them on the third floor (i.e. the top of the house), so not ideal for those with heavy and/or bulky luggage. The rooms we occupied were both well furnished with period pieces and a comfortable bed. Our bathroom had an imposing four-legged bathtub but only a hand-held shower attachment. Altogether this was a pleasant and memorable place to stay, at a fair price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by the owner, Edna Mea, and we knew right away that we arrived in a good place. Such a warm personality. The Manor is gorgeous! Obviously a lot of dedication goes into the maintanance of this nice place. The room was also much to our liking. Important to me, the bed was very comfortable. Nice bedding also. We could park the car safely on the property. The breakfast was also delicious! And whit the breakfast we had a really nice talk with Edna Mea about live in Canada. Love this!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, Edna-Mae is a most welcoming and hospitable hostess of a beautifully furnished heritage B & B in the midst of a very attractive and, by the sounds of it, active mountain community. Minto Manor is easily within walking distance of the town centre which, after a long day's drive, was much appreciated. A good selection of restaurants can be reached on foot in a matter of minutes. We stayed in the Begbie Room which, as previously noted is very comfortable with great views of the Columbia River and Mt Begbie - weather/clouds permitting! Breakfast was both hearty and delicious with much of the food locally sourced. All in all, our stay at the Minto Manor was very comfortable and we would definitely stay there another time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Edna-Mae does a wonderful job. She was there to meet us when we arrived, gave us a guided tour of this spectacular heritage home, and welcomed us with tea and cookies in the evening.

We stayed in the Begbie room which had glorious views of the Columbia river, ensuite bath (with a sit-in shower) and a queen sized bed. The size of the space was just perfectly romantic for a couple.

For us, the highlight was Edna-Mae's delicious home-cooked breakfast. We had pear cooked in honey with blueberries, followed by poached eggs in a cheese sauce with ham-wrapped asparagus on the side. Yummy! We also enjoyed toasted breads and preserves with a nice pot of tea.

And the Village Idiot? This was Edna-Mae's recommendation for dinner, which was less than a 5 minute walk away in downtown Revelstoke. The ambience was lively, obviously very popular with the ski crowd, and we helped raise the average age of the clientele by several years! The food was delicious.

Room Tip: All guest rooms are on the third level, so there are two flights of stairs to navigate to get you yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you value a beautiful house with lovely antique furniture, this is your place. The radiators alone were a sight worth seeing =).
Edna-Mae is the soul of the B&B, with a true and justified pride in the work she puts into the house and unto the community. The house is heated with ecological bio-energy.
The breakfasts are big and delicious. I have the coeliac disease, and Edna-Mae had some gluten free toast made just for me. She herself is wheat intolerant, so she truly knows what gluten-realted diseases mean.
The house is a short walk from downtown Revelstoke, and a short drive from the ski area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay in this wonderful heritage home, was memorable for our hostesses' warm welcome, and her lovely home-cooking. A much-needed tea, with home-baked cakes , was given on our arrival - and the breakfasts were all delicious - especially as I am a celiac. The house is still going through loving refurbishment, but the rooms are spacious, and very comfortable, with beautiful antique furniture. The street is quiet, tree-lined, just a stroll from town, the riverside walks, and is in a residential area of many other beautiful older houses.
We had a very enjoyable stay , and would recommend Minto Manor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our stay was in mid September and thank you Edna-Mae it was wonderful.
The house is like stepping back a century, a super atmosphere, our room on the top floor was huge and so comfortable, so many little extras that had been thought of.
Edna-Mae had lots of interesting tales to tell us and cooked us the most delicious breakfast, which we shared together.
There are many places to eat in the short walk to town, you dont need the car, we ate in a small "French bistro", excellent but rather expensive.
Went to the Railway museum and the Nickelodeon Museum, both worth a visit, revelstoke is a very good stopping off point on the long journey to Vancouver.
Thanks Edna-Mae.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minto Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Manor

Address: 815 McKenzie Avenue | P.O. Box 3089, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minto Manor B&B, winner of the 2009 Tourism and Hospitality Excellence Award, is located in the heart of historic downtown Revelstoke, BC. Built in 1905, this quiet elegant late Victorian home, is proud to be an environmentally responsible B&B on the Revelstoke Community Energy System. BC Approved Accommodation. Air conditioned rooms with Queen beds, en-suite bathrooms and fine bed linens. Robes. TV lounge with cable. Superb breakfasts - unique and satisfying. Complimentary parking, wireless, computer Aquatic Centre and Railway Museum Passes. House tours. Wrap around veranda. Gardens. Short walk to fine restaurants. shopping and trails. Welcoming refreshments. A home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.