We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience history in comfort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Revelstoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minto Manor
Save
You added Minto Manor to your Saves list
815 McKenzie Avenue | P.O. Box 3089, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Revelstoke B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Experience history in comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Thanks to the efforts of our hosts, this historical building is being maintained with loving attention to detail so that current and future generations will be able to experience a bit of what life was like in Victorian times. The huge house is a wonderful piece of architecture in a quiet but convenient part of downtown Revelstoke. In a few minutes' walk, you are in the midst of the shops, restaurants and movie theatre that constitute 'downtown.'
Our breakfast was the highlight of our stay: a delicious and healthy starter and main dish which were somehow more of a pleasure because they were chosen for us by Edna-Mae. Our hosts generously gave us their company over a long shared breakfast, during which we learned much about both them and the provinces they've lived in.
Our room, the Begbie, was small but luxurious and totally quiet. The only drawback to the historical experience was the clawfoot tub, which would be a poor substitute for a shower during a longer stay. The guests' sitting room is small, but cozy and comfortable, and it was lovely to be served tea there in the evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The Minto has the perfect location, close to downtown, yet quiet and grand in its heritage location. Hosts Edna-Mae and David are warm and welcoming and keep the Manor and grounds in perfect condition. Luxury abounds and the ensuite bedrooms are most comfortable and quiet. The breakfast - a hearty skiers gourmet's delight, with lively conversation from other happy guests - was a varied menue each day and unbeatable anywhere. Only a few minutes walk to the towns Aqua Sports centre and to all shops and fine eateries. We stayed a week and have already booked in for next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in the MacKenzie Room at the Minto Manor. Edna-Mae was very friendly and made a fantastic breakfast. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests at breakfast too, as everyone was sat around a medium-sized dining table so there was a nice family feel. I also loved the beautiful Monet-style potrait on the staircase, which if I remember right, was painted by the hostess or a relative.

Altogether Minto Manor was lovely, but not extremely memorable due to the very high standard of B&Bs throughout BC.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The hosts are gracious and very hospitable, which makes staying at this B&B such a lovely experience. The rooms are nice and the bathtubs are deep. The house is large and the rooms are spacious and it feels quite private. The location is great- a short 10-15 minute walk to the center of town.
The breakfast is superb.

  • Liked — Owners hospitality and the breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Can't believe this place isn't on here already. Stayed here "on spec" (out of the BC Accomodation Guide) and couldn't have been happier. From the minute we walked in we were royally looked after, and the rooms are lovely. As it says, period designed and furnished, but that doesn't mean old and non-working. Wonderfully comfortable bed, huge bath, lovely home baked breakfast and superb hosts. Would recommend to my mother, and that's saying something.

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minto Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Manor

Address: 815 McKenzie Avenue | P.O. Box 3089, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minto Manor B&B, winner of the 2009 Tourism and Hospitality Excellence Award, is located in the heart of historic downtown Revelstoke, BC. Built in 1905, this quiet elegant late Victorian home, is proud to be an environmentally responsible B&B on the Revelstoke Community Energy System. BC Approved Accommodation. Air conditioned rooms with Queen beds, en-suite bathrooms and fine bed linens. Robes. TV lounge with cable. Superb breakfasts - unique and satisfying. Complimentary parking, wireless, computer Aquatic Centre and Railway Museum Passes. House tours. Wrap around veranda. Gardens. Short walk to fine restaurants. shopping and trails. Welcoming refreshments. A home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.