We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to be desired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Revelstoke Gateway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Revelstoke Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Revelstoke Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lot to be desired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Unfortunately my family and myself were disappointed. Should you like being close to the trains, this is the place for you. It is situated at the end of town a good walk to the restaurants and Aqua center. The shuttle for the mountain is directly across the street and that works well, but be there early as they do not allow anyone standing in the aisles. Fully equiped included a hot plate with only one burner working. The internet worked intermittingly and was slow at that. Out of discounted tickets for the mountain. The floors were an engineered wood, not recommended for skiers. In a nutshell overpriced. Your money would be better spent at a B&B in town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    24
    20
    14
See reviews for
21
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Small and very spartan room. Requested a smoking room which were on offer and were told this needed a deposit in case "the room needed to be aired out afterwards"... eh? It's a smoking room! Needed to ask back for the deposit after checkout, wasn't offered freely. Revelstoke is touristy enough for there to be better hotels, will try another one next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We paid what I thought was a good price for this place. Revelstoke isn't exactly awash with any swanky places to stay (bar high priced B&Bs so it would seem). Place has been newly renovated, although don't expect too much - lick of paint and new fittings in bathroom and I'm guessing new bedding - duvets, brilliant. Best thing to say about this place. We were on the side the trains pass (try and get on the other if you are easily disturbed) but had no problems with train noise that other reviews have cited. We had a double queen room - good size and plenty of room for 2 people and all their ski clobber.

Given its a bit of a walk into town there are 2 restaurants ~2mins walk away: a burger joint which didn't try and another - Zala's, which we were told did some of the best steaks in town. Only had pasta there, but it's a bit pricey in my opinion. Food was good, and you can get cheap eats on pizza, but the mains generally were a tad toppy.

Ski resort ~10mins drive away though, and there's a bus from just outside if you haven't got a car - ask reception for the schedule.

Things you might not like:

Internet is absolutely rubbish - both the wireless and wired. Inconsistent doesn't sum it up. Personally, these days, this is unacceptable, but not the end of the world.

Mate I was with thought the place wasn't very cosy.

If you want to go out in Revelstoke (bar just skiing) then it's right at the wrong end of town (just off Highway 1 as you come into town) so it would be a bit of a walk into town. Don't know how long (maybe 10-15mins) as we didn't actually bother doing it.

Over-chlorinated hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are on a budget then this place is for you. If not get something elsewhere. We didn't get any restful sleep any of the 4 nights we stayed here. Even with our room being on the "quiet" side we still heard the train. The door or windows didn't lock. We had to slam the door just to get the latch the click. I felt bad about making so much noise but I didn't want some random just to bump into the door and have it open. We were in a room at the very end and listened to water draining off the roof constantly. It was relatively clean but we ended up in a smoking room even when we requested non-smoking. YUCK. The front desk staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

A group of us go for long motorcyle rides every year and we stumbled onto this hotel. We asked for rooms for 6 of us and they had one big room with 4 queen beds and frig! Was fun to have a big slumber party with all our friends! Lots of room for all of our stuff!! We loved it. The best were the best we had slept on so far on the 10 day trip. GREAT pillows and the sheets were so soft. We all sat outside and enjoyed the views of the flower beds you could tell they have been working on and there was a little park next door. The manager was very sweet. THe continental breakfast was simple but good. Had a great time THANKS!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We were supposed to stay at the Swiss Chalet, we booked the rooms three months in advance and they still lost all but one night of our reservation. They found us rooms at the Gateway, saying it was a quality place to stay. What we found was an old room that had been painted and a few cosmetic changes done, but for $100/night there were holes in the doors, a tiny bathroom, uncomfortable beds. The beds weren't even made the first day. The hottub didn't open until after 4 pm, not ideal when your coming off of a day of skiing. The breakfast consisted of cheerios, old english muffins, and weak coffee. There never seemed to be anyone at the desk and when there was someone there they weren't very helpful. The rooms were so noisy you could hear everything said in the other rooms and outside. It was a horrible stay, do not recommend it at all. Overpriced and poor quality.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Well the owners are nice. As for the room I got, not so nice. It was decent except for an odd smell. Too small for my liking but it was all that was available. I was woken up many times by the banging of the train as it left. On top of that the owners were robbed minutes after I had arrived by two kids. I would say this is an okay place for a one night stay. Only get a room that is on the far side from the train tracks (which would be on the same side as the front desk).

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Trains at Night waking you up.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Revelstoke Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Address: 1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Revelstoke Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Revelstoke's best valued accommodation with 44 newly renovated guest rooms with and without kitchennettes, spacious family suites, full cable, air conditioning, new queen beds, fridge, microwave, hot tub and fitness room. All guests receive a free Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and pass to Revelstoke's Aquatic & Fitness Centre. Ski, Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Walking distance to downtown Revelstoke and adjacent family licensed restaurants. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Revelstoke Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revelstoke Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revelstoke Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.