We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do but don't expect too much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Revelstoke Gateway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Revelstoke Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Revelstoke Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It'll do but don't expect too much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Bathrooms are clean, yet manage to smell at the same time. I had to keep the thermostat at 25 degrees to maintain heat in the room due to the huge gaps around the door openings. Shelf on the wall to hang things on was falling off.

Parking was good and the price was right. Don't bother with the breakfast.

Room Tip: I've heard that the 2nd floor rooms are better, but can't confirm this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    25
    22
    14
See reviews for
22
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My first impression of this motel was a horrible stench in the lobby at checkin. The room itself was a lot dumpier than expected (given the price and deceptive online photos) and the only redeeming feature was the clean bed. I was prepared to stay, but a mere 1.5 hours after checking in I saw a mouse running around! I had to argue with them for 20 min about getting my money back and even then I did not get a full refund. It then took them another 30 min to figure out how to refund me.
Definitely don't recommend this place to anyone, even if it seems like you are getting a deal - trust me, you are not!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Room smelled like mould and cigarette smoke. Did not look anything like the pictures on the website. Refund requested immediately after opening door and was not provided (even though I just spent over $400 5min earlier). Wood Borders on walls rotting and detaching from the ceiling. Did not even want to sleep in the bed so spent more money re-booking our vacation at another hotel. Lastly... Noise levels outrageous and there was a cold breeze through cracks around front door. Horrible!! Don't stay here- sleep in your car instead!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Staying here for the second year in a row. We stayed for 8 days in February 2013 and here for another 8 days in February 2014. For the price I have no complaints at all. Great hot tub, clean rooms, great staff. If you are looking for a place to stay on a ski holiday on a budget, this place is great. If breakfast is a huge thing in your life get a room with a kitchen and make it yourself! Oh and I think the beds are great! GO CANADA GO! Weather forecast is for a total of 200cms while we are here. Looking for bells and whistles go somewhere else and send min 200 a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Breakfast does not start until 8 which is late for a ski town and won't work for those hoping to get an early start.
I don't expect much from a motel continental breakfast but this one was exceptionally under par.

We only had two (very small) towels provided in our room.

The hotel advertises free passes for the rec center in town. NOT TRUE. They only give you a discount once you show your receipt. We gave our rec center receipt but got no money back because we didn't have our hotel booking receipt still with us from the day before when we checked in.

This motel is priced WAY too much for what you get. Choose elsewhere for the price point

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in Dec 2013, and were disappointed with our experience. When we checked into our room, there was garbage under the bed and in the cupboard under the sink. The room was tidy but needed a much better clean than it had been given. We used the hot tub one day at 4pm when it opened, and there was grime around the side of it and tons of dirt by the drains. You would assume it wasn't open until 4pm so they could clean but it clearly hadn't been touched since the previous day. They also had pictures on their website of a lovely swimming pool, turns out it was the community pool in town that they offer discount to. Sneaky to include pictures of it in my opinion. Probably wouldn't stay here again, definitely worth paying the extra to go elsewhere. Also offered some parties in our group a discount, but wouldn't do it for others, even though we checked in and out on the same days.

Room Tip: Half the rooms have been decorated and the other half haven't. Get a decorated one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We looked at all the areas ecomony rooms and this one was by far the best value! The white linens were sparkling which allowed us to relax knowing we were in a very clean enviroment. The furnishing, although not a five star, were functional and very comfy. The bed was a five star. Hada smile and even after the third time we needed assistance (oops we locked our key in the room at midnight) . The breakfast was continental and that is exactly what we got, a good cup of coffee, fresh juice and access to toast, cereal and all was left in clean tidy order. Other travellers in the breakfast area were also content and friendly. We really felt the"Zen "of the place. We recomend and will make this a stop over whenever we need a break from the drive. Well worth the money and the fresh start in the morning was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Revelstoke Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Address: 1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Revelstoke Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Revelstoke's best valued accommodation with 44 newly renovated guest rooms with and without kitchennettes, spacious family suites, full cable, air conditioning, new queen beds, fridge, microwave, hot tub and fitness room. All guests receive a free Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and pass to Revelstoke's Aquatic & Fitness Centre. Ski, Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Walking distance to downtown Revelstoke and adjacent family licensed restaurants. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Revelstoke Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revelstoke Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revelstoke Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.