We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sooner sleep in the car” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Revelstoke Gateway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Revelstoke Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Revelstoke Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
SE British Columbia Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“sooner sleep in the car”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived, snarly check in and tried to get us to pay more despite confirmed email check in, to the "complimentary" breakfast where they ran out of food, and a very old and tired room.

You can hear every word from the room next door, the carpet thin, no place to walk without tracking mud and wet. Even the people outside seem to be in the room with you the walls are so thin.
The breakfast is pretty basic to be kind. No fruit, white bread only, two cereal and coffee. That's all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    24
    20
    14
See reviews for
21
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here about two summers ago while vacationing in Banff and liked it a lot, so when we decided to spend a week there skiing at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, it was a pretty easy decision to stay there again. The rooms were comfortable and clean, same as the last time I'd stayed. I'll just point out the major things I liked and didn't like below.

Pros: Shuttle to the resort picks up right outside their gate and comes every half hour; hot tub for after skiing; front desk staff is very friendly; Zales steakhouse across the street is a great place to eat.

Cons: Breakfast isn't much, and I'd recommend just getting your own stuff if you're planning on skiing. The lifts start shutting down at around 3 PM, so you need to show up early to get as much time on the slopes as possible. Not exactly a con of the hotel, but the shuttle drops off a little farther down the street, which isn't a big deal but the first time I rode, the driver didn't announce it was the Gateway Inn stop, so I missed the stop and had to walk a ways back after I finally got the driver to stop.

Overall, I liked it just as much in the winter as I did in the summer. The rooms are a good value for the price. The shuttle makes getting to the resort without a car convenient, and the hot tub is nice after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cheap... but not cheap enough. Everything needs to be renovated and cleaned as it looks as though it has been untouched since the 70's.

Keep yourself entertained and out of the room (which is easy enough in Revelstoke)

PS- Eat at The Nomad (restaurant just across the street) They have great everything!

Room Tip: You can hear the train go by on the side of the hotel facing the highway. Keep yourself busy and OU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed 15th Sept 2012
Okay for the money, quiet as it is situated off the main road, large car park, fair size room, clean. No kettle for tea making.
Good as a stop off on the way to the Rockies.
Would recommend for one night stay only.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well, it's a good thing I didn't read the reviews before I booked it! My husband was driving from Saskatoon to Vancouver Island, B.C. with our seven kids, ages 3-16, and called me to get him a place in Revelstoke. Apparently, the last place I got him he wouldn't take a shower in it, so I was a little nervous! Anyway, the lady on the phone was lovely. Friendly, sympathetic, accommodating, and helpful. I booked a suite with 4 double/queen beds, and hoped for the best. Got a phone call from the family after they got in, and they were thrilled. I guess it depends where you spent your previous night! The breakfast is listed as being very light, so they are prepared for a bit of a snack and then will eat on the road later. We'd stay there again, should the occasion demand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Upstairs back room was large and clean, with a separate room for the second double bed!
A fridge, microwave and coffee maker were squished in between the bathroom and the outside door. The bathtub definitely needed attention - weird shower system and it took ages to drain!
The breakfast was really substandard - cheap bread (one, two slice toaster), uninteresting cereals, coffee, and the usual packets of really sweet jam. No fruit or anything else. Eat elsewhere if you are planning an active day.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the upper floor (accessed from the back) take up the width of the building and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I don't know where they got the pictures they posted on their website, but it is NOTHING at all like the actually room we were given. We booked a double room (two beds) and we paid $130-ish, not bad priced for a hotel in Revelstoke but I really think it would be worth to spend the extra money to have a stay in a nicer room with a better breakfast. It seemed clean, just worn down and old. What really bugs me is that we didn't get what we thought we would when we booked online!! We were also placed in the back of the hotel and had trains running right outside our door every 15 minutes all night long!!

Room Tip: we were on the bottom level - maybe the rooms on top are more updated? we were placed on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Revelstoke Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Address: 1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Revelstoke Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Revelstoke's best valued accommodation with 44 newly renovated guest rooms with and without kitchennettes, spacious family suites, full cable, air conditioning, new queen beds, fridge, microwave, hot tub and fitness room. All guests receive a free Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and pass to Revelstoke's Aquatic & Fitness Centre. Ski, Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Walking distance to downtown Revelstoke and adjacent family licensed restaurants. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Revelstoke Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revelstoke Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revelstoke Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.