We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swiss Chalet Motel to your Saves list
Swiss Chalet Motel
1101 Victoria Rd West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

You could be forgiven for driving past the hotel and regarding it as no different to any other run of the mill establishment. However, once through the door of our room we found a spacious high quality room that had been refurbished to a very good standard, with as good a bathroom as I have seen in the many hotel rooms I have encountered in years of travelling in the USA and Canada.

The air conditioning was reasonable quiet and easy to operate. Room service was excellent and very promptly done in the mornings.

The continental breakfast was quite comprehensive sand of very good quality.

The only downside (which is completely beyond the control of the staff) was the close proximity of the Canadian National railroad. Trains go past quite regularly throughout the night. However, it was possible to sleep well on some very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by outside appearances and location close to the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Chalet_Manager, Owner at Swiss Chalet Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Geoffrey C,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of the entire Swiss Chalet Staff we thank
you and look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Eric Scarcella
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    150
    42
    3
    4
See reviews for
85
149
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We would have given this place a better review if the member of staff checking ius in was nicer.
She was really not interested or very informed and this put us off as we had heard that the staff here were friendly and helpful,
That aside, the room was newly furbished and spotless. The crisp white sheets and fluffy white towels were great as was the very comfortable bed and pillows. We slept well despite the trains going by in the night.The room was very small and cramped and my husband and I kept bumping into each other.
A bigger TV would also be good. We read that the TV was supposed to be 32" but I don't think it was.
It was good to have a coffee maker but please can we have some tea for the British!!. We do like our tea.
The shower was hot and very good and the views were stunning. We walked to town and enjoyed the feel and aura of Revelstoke.
The breakfast was okay if you like waffles and starchy, sweet food but we appreciated the eggs and cream cheese.
Fresh coffee would have been nice instead of instant coffee.
For the price we paid, it could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Tidy, clean, nicely furnished and professionally run this place is a good choice in Revelstoke.
Internet is fast and they have a good breakfast in the morning to start the day.
A nice touch with this place is the free passes to the Revelstoke Aquatic Centre if you would like a swim as this place is large and really good for a couple of hours playing around.
Only down is if you are a light sleeper is the railway line across the road with the frequent thundering trains going by.
Very impressed overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I happen to have stayed here a few years ago and back then the location of it was great and well what a surprise when I booked the room online before I got there and found they had done a complete remodel of the exterior and in the rooms also. From newly done bathrooms to beds and furniture the remodel they did was awesome.
Friendly staff upon checking in and when departing the next morning. The included breakfast is the same generic breakfast at many other motels/hotels now adays with waffles and cereal but none the less a decent start to the day.
One thing I must point out is it is across the street from the CPRail mainline thru town but I with window open only heard a few trains as the rolled thru town. Would I recommend the place to others heck yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just recently spent one night in Revelstoke, and had stayed at the Swiss Chalet before. I only need a single room; non-smoking(the whole motel)...so called them and they had a vacancy. I arrived later in the evening and was greeted professionally. The room was clean and comfortable.
I will stay there again when required. the rate was vey fair, and included breakfast items.

Room Tip: Close to the road, but if you like trains and railroading...this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night during a drive through on our way to Vancouver.

The rooms were recently renovated with new beds and a brand new bathroom.
Both my husband and I were quite surprised at how CLEAN the place was.
The room was a little small but for what we needed it for, just to lay our heads down for a nap, it was the perfect size.
The room came with a 32? inch flat screen TV, coffee maker, bar fridge and a table with 2 chairs.

The free breakfast was awesome- cereals, eggs, waffles, toast, lots of hot/cold drinks.
Muffins, fruits. It had everything you would need for a quick breakfast before heading out on the road.

We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only stayed there one night as we were only passing through. Our room was small but compact it was all we needed for the two of us. The best sleep ever had in a luxury new bed. Flat screen t.v. on wall, cable, wi-fi and coffee maker in room.
Our room was spotless and very professionally renovated it felt like you were in a new motel. The complimentary breakfast was great. Lots to choose from, we made ourselves fresh waffles with butter and syrup and fresh muffins. There also was eggs,fruit, cereal etc.
That evening we went for Chinese Buffet, I wish I could remember the name of it as there were two Chinese buffet there we selected the second one on that street. A must to try.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would have given it a 5 star if it had not been for our small but compact room. I would stay there again but when we usually stay in Revelstoke we have our small dog and they do not allow pets so we have to stay elsewhere usually at the Sandman.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Motel

Address: 1101 Victoria Rd West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Revelstoke
#3 Family Hotel in Revelstoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to Revelstoke, British Columbia, for the powder in winter or the hiking or mountain biking in summer to name a few you will find the Swiss Chalet Motel is in a prime location. The nightlife, restaurants and shops in the historic downtown area are only a short walk away. The motel caters to those on a budget with standard one and two queen rooms, for those travelling in a large group the two-bedroom rooms are perfect and for those who want that something extra special will appreciate the specialty suites which have a king-size bed and one room featuring a 2 person jacuzzi tub. The Swiss Chalet Motel gives you more for your money with our free 'great start' breakfast including Belgium Waffles and more, high-speed wireless Internet and Revelstoke Aquatic / Fitness Centre passes. It’s no wonder why the Swiss Chalet Motel is rated one of the top motels in Revelstoke due to the great value, clean rooms and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swiss Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Revelstoke
Swiss Chalet Revelstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.