We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Revelstoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Revelstoke to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Laforme Blvd | PO Box 2329, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“It's all about service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a 4 day stay and ski spring package for 1st week in April. The room was good value for price and exceeded my expectations. On the first day of skiing I broke my leg - not the hotel's fault. The staff sprung into action. The Manager filled my prescription at the local pharmacy and deliverd the medications to my room. Another staff person assisted me at the door and made sure that I had acccess to everything that I needed. I was able to get a flight out the next day and hotel staff packed my bags, loaded the car and arranged for transportation back to Kelowna. I was traveling alone and the staff made it possible for me to depart in a timely way and looked after my every need. In the words of the terminator - I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
49
49
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We only stayed one night on a return trip home. When we first checked in we were placed into a wing of the hotel that was under renovation. You could smell the dry wall dust, see the contruction work. Also you could smell, we think, mildew. The first room had some serious damage to it so we requested a move. It took about 30 minutes and we were relocated back to the "main" building behine the front desk. This was after someone came to check our concerns about the first room, told us we were being moved and how to get there. No offer to reload our stuff or move it to the new room (we are seniors).

The new room was nice, clean but still in need of some updating, but it was only one night so we stayed as it was going to be an early morning.

Not connected to the hotel - we had difficulty on a Friday evening to find a decent place to eat in town. While there is a Denny's attached to the hotel we wanted something different than fast food or Asian. We settled on one downtown but it was overpriced food that was probably COSTCO food.

Room Tip: until the renovations are done, ask to stay in the main building. Also watch where you park, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Manager at Sandman Hotel Revelstoke, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It is true that we are currently renovating our Hotel and have been for several months now. We are trying to manage the situation so as not to interfere with our current guests and for the most part we have been able to accomplish this but I am sorry to hear that this didn’t happen in your case. It would help me and future guests if you contacted me directly so I can find out why this happened.
On a positive note we are getting ready to unveil some of our new guest rooms and they are stunning. We will be doing all of our guest rooms in the South Building and then going back and putting some more updates to our rooms in the North Building. We have finished most of our public areas as well. We really are striving to provide you our guests with a much improved product.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It helps us to get “a little better every day”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I drove from Vancouver to Banff, Alberta. We needed to place to stay for a nite after a long drive. Sandman was in superb location with very helpful staff escpially the lady at the front desk. She offered us to park our car in a disabled parking lot right infront of the hotel so they can keep an eye on our car as we have so many stuff in the car..

The room was good and clean overlooking the mountain with small kitchen. I would definitely recommend this hotel with my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: get a room facing the mountain it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Manager at Sandman Hotel Revelstoke, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the service you received from the Guest Service Agent and the quality of the Hotel. What a great way to start a Monday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Front desk staff went out of their way to help. Very hospitable.
They had a good ski and stay rate ($150+tax for a single lift ticket and one night stay) for singles, which is rare. Most ski and stay packages at other hotels are based on double occupancy, which doesn't help me!
Rooms were average. Nice beds, fridge smelled musty and needed a good cleaning.
Hot tub was a good temperature, great after a day on the hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came here for business for one night reserved a two queen room was given a one queen room the room smelled funky which upset my tummy it was dark and icky atleast the bathroom was clean but when I called and asked about our room switch I was told that the room I requested was sold out and in future I should book a week in advance the nature of my business is Last Minute and I paid more for a cheap [--] room not happy not impressed will not come back here unless I absolutely have to :-(

So far off to a not a happy start

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Manager at Sandman Hotel Revelstoke, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate the feedback of our guests as it helps us to avoid this type of situation in the future and we need your help to improve. I wouldn’t like a room that smells funky either and we certainly have ways to correct that and that should have been done. Inventory control is especially difficult to manage with many sources of reservations. We do have several different categories of rooms and they are not always all available especially in this our busy season but we do try as best we can to meet everyone’s wishes. If you would contact me directly I will investigate the situation and try to make things right. Hoping I can be of help to you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here between Jan 6-10, 2013. We booked a king bed kitchenette. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The kitchenette was small and the dishes and cutlery was very limited. Hot tub and pool were nice although the hot tub was too hot on the first night and after we told the front desk about the temp in the tub, the next day it was fine. The price was right after we used a discount coupon attached to our Costco ski passes for the Revelstoke Ski Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Banff, the hotel was dated and in need of some serious renovations, our room was okay quite big but again it needed modernising. There was no restaurant attached to the hotel however Denny's was located next door and there were the usual fast food chains across the road. It was okay for an overnight stay however I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon B, Manager at Sandman Hotel Revelstoke, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I think your assessment of some of our rooms and public spaces is fair. Fortunately for all of our future guests the Sandman Hotel Group has decided to do a major renovation. We are phasing it in right now so as not to disturb our current guests. I am really excited about the product that we will be unveiling over the next few months. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are headed to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel Revelstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Revelstoke

Address: 1901 Laforme Blvd | PO Box 2329, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Hotel Revelstoke 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the Monashee and Selkirk Mountain ranges, halfway between Vancouver, BC and Calgary, AB, Sandman Hotel Revelstoke is situated off Trans-Canada Highway. Hailed as "the original mountain town", there are endless options of recreational activities such as skiing, heli-skiing, hiking, camping, and much, much more. Also catering to the business traveler, Sandman Hotel Revelstoke has all the modern essentials such as free Wi-Fi, a business centre, and meeting facilities, making this Sandman the perfect choice when traveling on vacation or a short stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Revelstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Revelstoke Hotel Revelstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Revelstoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.