We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Informative Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre

Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre
Highway 23 (Big Bend Hwy), Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-814-6697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Attractions in Revelstoke
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The recently-renovated Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre offers a wide range of exhibits and activities for all ages. New to the centre are 14 interactive displays, a First Nations gallery and theatre.Learn how the Revelstoke project was built, how water is turned into energy, and don't miss out on a self-guided tour that'll take you on an elevator ride to the lookout located atop the massive, 175-metre high concrete dam.The facility is fully wheelchair accessible, incorporating wheelchair ramps, elevators and wheelchair-accessible toilets. The Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre is now closed for the season and will re-open from May 16-September 7, 2015. See our website to learn about any special offers and plan your visit.
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As a family we toured the Revelstoke Dam in August on a windy, cloudy day and I'm pleased to report it was a great place to spend a couple hours. It's a self guided tour with lots of hands-on knobs and buttons to work while learning about electricity and the environment. The elevator up to a fantastic view was fun as well as listening to information, reading, and searching through the gift store. There's also a section on First Nations that was interesting. I loved how they displayed all the various people involved in the project and how complex this dam is. Very well done and good for anyone approx. 6 years and older. Well worth the time to check out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interactive and Fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The size of the Dam is impressive. The first upclose sights are amazing but the interpretive center was like stepping back into time. The history was easy to read and the displays are very creative!!
AMAZING...Dogs were also allow inside to join the family!!! that was great to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“"It was a dam site better than I thought it would be."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had been to the Grand Coulee Dam earlier on our trip so I was not really expecting to much from this attraction. I was pleasantly surprised. Everything here was so new & clean. It was self guiding and you could spend as long as you like in any one area. Though not as spectacular as Grand Coulee I would definitely recommend that you visit the Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre. There is a lot you could learn on your visit and it would be great for kids aged 6 to about 11.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“colossal building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

perfect for a rainy day. was blown away by the size of the Dam, great self guiding tour including a elevator inside the dam. to the top ( 175m) well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the opportunity to visit this facility with our family. Our young girls were more enthralled with the interactive exhibits than the actual dam of course however. I felt the information was interesting and gave a good sense of the impact of the construction and the planning required. The viewing deck would have been great if it were possible to see more of the Lake Revelstoke side but the views of the area south of the dam were very picturesque nonetheless. Definitely worth checking out if passing through town if only because it is so accessible and is a decent time investment without being excessive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.