We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier House Resort to your Saves list
Glacier House Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1870 Glacier Lane | Box 250, Revelstoke, British Columbia VOE 2S0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Discounted ski passes!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

When we finally located the hotel after passing the road up to it 3 times !!! ( please invest in a decent clear sign Sat Nav couldn't locate address !) It was a very pleasant surprise , a lovely drive along the river and past the Dam . A very warm welcome from receptionist . A lovely room with a fabulous view . We arrived to sunshine and left with snow !
We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening which was very nice but for a vegetarian who is also gluten free , breakfast was very disappointing . Would of appreciated and been happy to pay for the option of a cooked breakfast to set us on our way for our journey up to Banff on a very cold snowy morning !

Room Tip: Can't see that any wouldn't have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family on a road trip on across Canada. A nice off the beaten track lodge. Very friendly people and quite helpful. Room was good and clean and felt quite modern. Restaurant was nice but food was so so. Tried the pool but it was freezing, and the pool and sauna area felt a bit clinical. I'd stay again but it was hard to find off the main road, definitely needs more signage.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We overnighted here as part of our 3 day road trip from Banff to Vancouver. It's a couple of miles away from the Trans-Canada Highway which is a plus, unlike several of the other hotels listed in Revelstoke.

The staff were friendly, the room was decent, the bed was comfy. The in-house restaurant was a pleasant surprise in terms of price and quality - I had the best grilled chicken burger in recent memory and a litre of perfectly acceptable white wine was $28, which as travellers will know represents good value in Canada!

The continental breakfast was fine in the morning, made even better by the view. All in all, this was a good value stay for us and we were glad not to be right by the highway. It is worth noting that there is a hydro electric plant nearby and there are power lines in the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

i booked the hotel for one night and stayed an additinal night since i liked the hotel and enjoided that little town revelstoke.
the hotel had been almost empty due to season.welcome at reception had been very warm .the rooms are spacious and nice my room had a large terace ,shared with the neighboring room,
and a great mountain view. bar and restarant had been closed due to season but indoorpool could be used.everythink nice and clean.rooms have an gas fireplace which is cosy at the cold evenings
i received an restaurant suggestion which also influenced me to stay anothe night

Room Tip: room like no 209 with large terace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Glacier is a charming hotel in a great location. We stayed for 2 nights during a 2 week trip with friends and this was their favorite hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Unlike some other reviewers, we actually liked that it is 10 out of town.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

No fridges in medium cabins, no towel racks in bathroom, hot tubs not working, dog hair on the couch where my child is to sleep and no restaurant services....no late check out for events held at the resort.What am I paying for?

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We arrived late, and reception was closed/closing (I think we crosse paths with the receptionist) and had been told our hotel key was in an envelope on the door - Found the room no issues. The hotel was clean, good size room, bathroom was clean, and the shower was amazing after a long car journey!
The next day, there was some confusion, we thought we had paid for the breakfast, so we went to have some, after starting to get the food, we were told it wasnt included and we had to pay extra. We decided that we would do this... At the same time, there was a group of 3/4 guys who had come down and they had plates of food... We ended up not really eating much, and they didn't refil any food as breakfast time was ending.. Had we have known this, we wouldnt have had any and saved the money to go elsewhere!

Overall, it was a good place for a night stay, I would go back again as the location and the hotel were stunning so its a shame we were on such a tight time schedule!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier House Resort

Address: 1870 Glacier Lane | Box 250, Revelstoke, British Columbia VOE 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10kms north of Revelstoke in a quiet area with breath-taking scenery. Spacious lodge rooms and cozy log cabins are perfect for all group sizes. Relax in the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna, and enjoy classic Canadian cuisine in the Gallery Restaurant and Bar, with sunny patio overlooking Mount Begbie. Warm up after the snow in our downstairs bar with open fireplace. We welcome you and your well behaved pets! Glacier House is happy to offer some pet friendly rooms. Please note; SELECT ROOMS ONLY are pet friendly and must be requested at time of booking. Recently certified by Green Tourism Canada, we are working hard to improve our sustainability and environmental practices. STEP OUT TO ADVENTURE AT GLACIER HOUSE RESORT!! Winter; Get out and discover the legendary snowfall that Revelstoke is famous for! Ride from your door to snowmobile trails and alpine terrain on Boulder and Frisby mountains, waist deep powder is just moments away. Snowmobile rentals and guided tours include the 1hr Cabin Run, multi day Mountain Warrior trips, and everything in-between! Revelstoke Mountain Resort is a short distance away with 5620ft of unbelievable skiing on and off piste. Summer: Glacier House is in the heart of Revelstoke's epic hiking and mountain bike trails. Play croquet or bocce on our huge lawn, or bring your bike and get rad in our very own REVELOUTION bike park! Explore cool waters with canoe and paddle board rental - we have our own private dock on Lake Revelstoke. Direct access to the dirt bike track and trails on Frisby mountain just 2kms down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glacier House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier House Hotel Revelstoke
Glacier Hotel Revelstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.