We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly rude answer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Ninth Hole

Save Saved
You added The Inn at the Ninth Hole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at the Ninth Hole
5091 20th Ave SE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 1X6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salmon Arm B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly rude answer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

My husband and I were seriously considering staying at this hotel but when I asked the following question:
I was just wondering if the bathroom at the mexican room has a bath tub. I couldn't figure it out in the website. Also, I can see that this is a larger room than the peach. Is that the main difference, apart from the size of the bed? or anything else? We are seriously considering staying with you but are debating the price difference. Is there anyway we could get a better rate for the mexican one?

I got the following reply:
Mexican room:
I think you better look somewhere downtown or camp ground, I don't think we are the place to be for you. Our rates are considering our quality very reasonable but we cannot deliver this quality for free. May be the visitor information centre knows a place where you and your family can be happy.

We had never been to this place before and I was just trying to understand the price difference. I don't believe in anyway I requested to stay there for free and I deserved such a response. Their place may be really beautiful but their customer service is extremely poor. However, I did appreciate them showing the way they really are before we actually get there. We ended up staying at... where they know how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Our response to How rude is this!



Thank you for your review to bad that you did not put in the other e-mails, where we explained why we think you should look for a different accommodation, and your e-mail where you ask for a swimming pool, hot tub, play ground etc which we don't offer. We did explain what we wanted to tell you and the advise we gave you. It is a very very busy time and some times if we an e-mail it comes out a little different than we wanted.

If you are in Salmon Arm just drop in and meett us so you can see for your self we are not to bad.

Hope you will consider this.


Good afternoon,

Excuses for the miss understanding,

I didn't mean to be rude but we have a very nice outlined web site with all up to date information and lots of info about the Shuswap, andt most of our guests are not looking for a place with swimming pool and play grounds, Salmon arm downtown offers all these things: parks, water slide, play ground lake all whit in 5 minutes walk, and that is what I mend by writing that we are not the right spot for you and your family, nothing rude just an suggestion that there are places better for what you are looking for. And the same for campground most of them are directly at the waterfront and offer lots of things to do for kids. Also they offer more and more a combination of camping and fixed roofing accomodation. We didn't want to offend you just try to get you on the right spot.

Hope this cleared some things up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
62
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Seven glorious days in a serene location and residence that has all the warmth of our home. The gracious hospitality provided by Rene and Joanie enhanced our stay and we have booked again. The accommodations and morning meal demonstrate the pride that this couple has in their home. Late afternoons and evenings on the patio for intimate conversations or chatting with other patrons are a real pleasure. Bed and breakfast is actually not an appropriate definition of this residence since the six units provided are actually individual, tastefully decorated suites. Each unit is very different but all contain comfortable seating areas and luxurious bathrooms. The two lower units have private patios and direct access to the main patio that features a gas barbecue and outdoor heater for all guests. The breakfast is not the typical "bed and breakfast" fare but rather a full home cooked breakfast which varies daily using local wholesome ingredients. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I'm a business traveler and had stayed at many hotels and inns. This is the only place that I can't wait to go back after work. Joaney and Rene, excellent host. They are not just friendly and great hospitality. They are very caring and personal made my stay exceptional. As a frequent solo business traveler. I appreciate their homey hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I needed an overnight place to stay while attending a seminar. This was an excellent choice. I went into the second day of seminars rested, relaxed, and able to concentrate.
Thoroughly enjoyed the extra long jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, hosts at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely comment, we hope to see some other time in our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This lovely B & B is in a beautiful, quiet , forested setting, well off the highway, and away from any train noise. It's gracious hosts haven't missed anything in making guests comfortable and happy. Our "Peach Room" was spotless and had a comfortable bed and "upscale" bathroom. Each of the three days we were here, we enjoyed a great breakfast. We make an annual trek to see family near here and believe we have finally found what we think is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Thank you very much for your great review we hope to see next time. Have a great Fall.
rene and joaney vanderkraats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband and I were invited to a family wedding in Salmon Arm and decided to plan a 2 week vacation around it. We originally booked for 7 nights in the Floral room, but decided to stay 2 more. (Our other nights were spent at a friend's cottage on the Lake). Luckily, Rene and Joaney were able to accommodate us and we spent one night in the Tee room and the other in the Peach. All three were rooms were comfortable, well appointed and immaculate. And since we stayed a full week we were lucky to sample all of Rene's hot breakfast offerings (although he gives Joaney credit for the crepes), and all were absolutely delicious. This is truly a lovely B&B!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Inn on the Ninth Hole for a wedding in Salmon Arm. Our group booked the entire 6 bedroom property for 4 days and were very pleased. The property was huge, quiet , and comfortable. The owners residence area is very separate from the B & B rooms. The breakfast far exceeded expectations from these friendly propriators. They allowed the wedding party to have a rather large B B Q party the day after the wedding. The entire stay was so wonderful the owners were so kind they were part of the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at the Ninth Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Ninth Hole

Address: 5091 20th Ave SE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 1X6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the ninth Hole, surrounded by forest, overlooking the golf course and Mountains. Away from the busy highway city and train noise. Every room from the smallest 400sq ft to the largest 875 sq ft, is designed with only our guests comfort in mind. All rooms with private entrance and en-suite private full bathrooms. Free in room WIFI.We are proud to serve our guests, a high quality fresh made (included) breakfast from local produce and products where possible organic. Gluten free and special wisches possible by reservation. Only 5 to 10 minutes drive to downtown Salmon Arm, beach and restaurants. The best place for a good quiet night sleep for all, traveling for leisure or work.....Open year round: October 15 till April 1st by reservation only. The perfect place for a family or friends gathering, use the BBQ, the full equipped guest kitchen and the breakfast lounge or guest patio. Make your own meals or bring in a caterer or order some great meals in town. Bring your favourite drinks! Digital music and TV (over 75 tv and 40 music)in all our rooms: all rooms are equipped with DVD player most rooms 32 HD flatscreens.. We have a DVD collection of 100+ DVD's available for our guests. Guests rave about our breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at the Ninth Hole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Ninth Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.