We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple pie in a glass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Ninth Hole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at the Ninth Hole to your Saves list
The Inn at the Ninth Hole
5091 20th Ave SE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 1X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct and save
Ranked #1 of 10 Salmon Arm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Apple pie in a glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A very restful Inn. Nice beds and very clean. Great breakfasts and love that Apple juice. We purchased two large jugs when we left Salmon Arm. You got to love those bathrobes. Ken and Olin Brix-Nielsen. North Vancouver. Christmas 2012

Room Tip: Take any one they have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnattheninthhole, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, local fresh products for breakfast are really easy to around here.
Davison apple pie (juice) is absolute the best in the valley, they have a long tradition in making it.

Thanks again and hope to see some other time.

Rene and Joaney Vanderkraats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
85
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tremonton, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent just one night here, as a stop-over on a road trip through British Columbia. This would be a great place to spend several days. The room was large, with a comfortable bed and a nice seating area. We had access to an outdoor patio and the back yard.

The Inn is in a secluded, wooded setting at the end of an unpaved lane, and right next to the 9th hole of a golf course. It is very quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast was wonderful. They made fresh crepes for us, although I think they make something different each day. Besides the crepes, they had an array of breads, yoghurt, cereals, local jams, juices, and more. The fresh local apple juice was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnattheninthhole, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, always nice to hear good things. Hope we will see around on your next travel.

Warm greetings rene and joaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loleta, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this gem for two nights in October 2011 on our 5-day long trip from California. Our room exceeded our expectations in both size, and comfort, and the ambiance was perfect. The breakfast was excellent, and the hosts Rene, and Joaney were very friendly. Besides Salmon Arm, the Inn at the Ninth Hole is near excellent wineries, and the Turtle Valley Donkey Refuge.

Room Tip: The Web Site of The Inn at the Ninth Hole has pictures of all rooms, which are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnattheninthhole, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your friendly words, hope we will be able to accommodate you again on your next travel into the Shuswap. Since 2012 we even have more winneries in the shuswap.

Warm greetings rene and joaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had an absolute great time. if you are looking for a family spot, supper clean, great breakfast, don't think twice. We were there 4 years ago, and this year on Dec. 22 & 30, each time just one night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnattheninthhole, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, happy to hear you had a good stay looking forward to your next stay.
Greetings to you all, brooklyn says hi to Hanna.

warm greetings rene joaney and brooklyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night in December of 2012 on a looping two-week roadtrip from Calgary to Nanaimo BC. Wish we had more that one night! This is a lovely, cozy inn. Our room (the "Tee" room) was unbelievable spacious and well furnished. It had walk-out french doors and several seating areas. The breakfast was amazing - food was locally sourced and I believe mostly organic, too. Local free-range eggs made to order. As Salmon Arm is only a a five-hour drive from Calgary, we will definitely be staying here again the next time we need to get away for a long weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, loved it that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your next visit. Wishing you a great Christmas and Happy and Healthy 2013.

Rene and Joaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Like a lot of other people, we stayed at the Inn at the Ninth overnight while crossing BC. It was clean, comfortable and Joaney and Rene Vanderkraats are couldn't be more friendly and welcomin, and offered us all sorts of information about the local area and our trip once we left the Inn! The Inn is in such a peaceful setting, it's impossible not to feel relaxed here (apart from trying to find the place - DO NOT rely on your GPS, it will lie to you!) While this was just a stopover for us, I would have loved to spend more time here and completely unwind.

The best part about this place is breakfast thought. Joaney (quite rightly) couldn't be prouder of the amazing spread of local breakfast goodies. The produce on offer was truly amazing. I have never committed any criminal activity in my life, but I am currently putting serious thought into assembling a gang of heavies in order to kidnap Rene Vanderkraats and imprison him as my person French Toast slave!

Thank you Joaney and Rene for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for funny and great review, you are always welcome to come in for French toast. About the GPS it is really hard to get this right not only for our address but most information is out dated on GPS systems specialy with rental cars. Hope that this will be solved some day?
With our confirmation and contact page on our web site it should be easier!
We really liked that you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again some time.

Joaney and rene vanderkraats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in the Green Room over Thanksgiving in October 2012 and had a wonderful stay. When I was initially looking at places to go for the long weekend, Salmon Arm never even entered my head but that has totally changed now. What a great break it was, beautiful weather, extremely friendly hosts made you feel right at home and the food was to die for. Local produce every morning and something different on the menu for breakfast. Since I was on a bit of tighter budget, it was nice to have the use of the kitchen to cook my meals. Great location, quiet and cosy. If I didn't have to leave the room for it to be cleaned would have been quite content to stay there all day! It's a nice halfway point between Calgary and Vancouver if you are looking for a place to stay. Will definitely book again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmonarminn, Owner at The Inn at the Ninth Hole, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review, yes Salmon Arm and the Shuswap are more than a place on your way to, we offer great outdoor experiences too. Our full guests kitchen is used many times by our guests to make their own meals wich gives our place that special home feeling. Cleaning the rooms we always work around our guests, when they leave the room we will go in and clean if guests like to stay in we simply ask if their are things they need as towels or ....

Hope to see some other time, warm greetings rene and joaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Ninth Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Ninth Hole

Address: 5091 20th Ave SE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 1X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the ninth Hole, Where you really are a guest. Surrounded by forest, overlooking the golf course and Mountains. Away from the busy highway city and train noise.Only 5 to 10 minutes drive to downtown Salmon Arm, beach, hiking, biking,golf and restaurants. Every room from the smallest 400sq ft to the largest 875 sq ft, is designed with only your comfort in mind. All rooms with private entrance and en-suite private full bathrooms. Free in room WIFI.We are proud to serve our guests, a high quality fresh made (included) breakfast from local produce and products where possible organic. Gluten free and special wisches possible by reservation. The best place for a good quiet night sleep for all, traveling for leisure or work.....Open year round: reservations recommended. Between 1st October till May 1st by reservation only. The perfect place for a family or friends gathering, use the BBQ, the full equipped guest kitchen and the breakfast lounge or guest patio. Make your own meals or order some great meals in town. Bring your favourite drinks! Digital music and TV in all our rooms: all rooms are equipped with DVD player most rooms 32 HD flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at the Ninth Hole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Ninth Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.