We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Podollan Inn to your Saves list
Podollan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 TransCanada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia VE1 4N1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - SAVE $5
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fairly nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We normally stop elsewhere after coming from Vancouver, but decided to give this place a try. I reserved a room, and upon arrival found out they had upgraded us to the main hotel, I think perhaps it was because no one was booked into the express that I reserved. The room itself is clean, the beds are comfy. It came with a microwave, and fridge with two free bottles of water, which is a nice touch. The Wi-fi was absolutely useless, as it kept losing signal., it's a minor detail. If there's one thing I could recommend to the owner/manager of this place, please don't install a light colored berber carpet, as many guests do not remove their footwear, and it does make the room look dirtier than it may actually be. I dark brown carpet would work much better. All in all, a nice room, and I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Podollan Inn. Unfortunately from time to time the complimentary internet is weak. We continue to work with our provider to offer consistent strong service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    23
    16
    19
See reviews for
62
51
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently came across this hotel strictly by chance. We had planned to stay at another hotel in town but when we pulled in, we saw that it was located right on the very busy CPR tracks so we didn't even stop. We continued through town and saw the Podollan and decided to give it a try. When my husband told the girl at the desk that we wanted a quiet unit because we'd had a very noisy room the night before and hadn't slept well, she upgraded us to one of the suites. We were in Unit 110, which is right at the end of the hall, overlooking both the pool and the lovely, little garden. The suite was huge, the bed comfortable, everything was neat and clean and the staff were friendly. I would probably have rated the hotel as a "5" but I was a bit annoyed at being charged a utility surcharge. While the amount was just under $3 for the night, I feel that utility costs are a part of doing business and should be built into the cost of the room, not added on as an unexpected surcharge at the end. It would also be nice if a breakfast was included, however, we were given a voucher for $4 each towards breakfast in their restaurant as well as another for a 15% discount for supper. We took advantage of the evening meal but not breakfast as we were on our way quite early in the morning and decided to eat later.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place caught our eye as a likely fit to the type of hotel we like.... and generally it is acceptable.... the rooms are very nice and we slept well......but.... the room price was high...and the service is poor. They have a laundry option which we used...and were told the small bag of clothes would be "back tonight or at the desk in the morning". Unfortunately neither happened. We were delayed in our departure by an hour while they hurriedly did our laundry... sigh. The internal restaurant looks sterile and the prices there were definitely were very high so we did not even try to use the little discount coupons they give...( they must know their prices are too high huh?)

Room Tip: check out other options in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and slept well on the pillow top bed with premium linens and duvets. Steps have been taken to return laundry in a more timely manner. Table 24, our Triple Diamond rated restaurant serves local organic cuisine. Hotel guests can enjoy a 15% discount on their fine dining experience. We hope you will return someday soon and try our award winning restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been stopping at this property for several years, but recently stayed for the last time. We stayed in room 121, the bed was old and uncomfortable and the toilet broken. The rooms had been satisfactory but have now been priced out of the acceptable range.

Room Tip: Avoid the outbuilding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We appreciate that you have stayed with us several times over the years. Thank you for your feedback. We have replaced the toilet and ordered a new mattress. As a valued guest, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On a road trip with my cousin we booked in at the Podollan. What a great hotel! Great rooms, great pool, awesome restaurant, and very welcoming staff. Our room was a great size, right next to the pool. Comfy beds, plenty of room to unwind and repack. Be sure to enjoy Table 24 it has a great menu, local items and very delicious. Will for sure tell others to stop in here. We also took advantage of the discount coupons for the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you want pool side with walk out to pool, ask for rooms 105-110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just spent the weekend and everything was great!! Spent some time at the amazing pool area, and were very satisfied with the rooms and service. Will definately be heading back here soon!!
Staff were very friendly adn helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
“Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a room in the express building. Room was clean and had a nice balcony at the pool side. Although the express building has no wifi, we could use the internet on the balcony. The hotel gave us discount coupons for breakfast and dinner. We had breakfast at the in-house restaurant. Service and food were good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the Express Building. It usually has wifi in the rooms, but on occasion the service can be weak. We are pleased you could access the internet from the balcony while overlooking the spectacular pool and beautiful gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Address: 1460 TransCanada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia VE1 4N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Podollan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our custom built, locally owned and operated luxury boutique hotel with all the features of local lifestyle, from individually decorated spacious rooms, free Wifi and buffet breakfast, to friendly caring staff, at an affordable price. Take in the cultural journey, the authentic lifestyle and experience the outdoor adventure of Salmon Arm, BC. We are close to everything. Imagine yourself in a Podollan Inn guest room with views of the Lake, mountains, or the pool, gardens and 18 acres of forested trails. Request a poolside room with a patio and relax outside with access to our stunning pool. Or enjoy a free pass to the aquatic centre. Taste local fresh flavours at Table 24, Triple Diamond rated. End your day in a pillow top bed with premium linens. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn And Spa
Podollan Hotel Salmon Arm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podollan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.