We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains, wasps and poop, oh my!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre's Point Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon Arm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pierre's Point Campground
Save
You added Pierre's Point Campground to your Saves list
Shuswap Lake, 7.7km west of Salmon Arm | Highway 1, Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Trains, wasps and poop, oh my!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We're finishing a trip across Canada and have stayed in a number of different campgrounds from national parks to private places. This one ranks the lowest. It was nicely located on a lake and the manager nice , but that's where the compliments stop. The signage has a threatening tone like we should feel privileged to stay there and if we don't behave, we'll be kicked out. Should have taken the hint from the lady at the entrance who greeted us with a police officer kind of presence. The wasps were so bad, after my 2 year old son got stung on the beach we stayed in the tent the majority of the night. The bathrooms were dirty, we had to throw away my son's shorts after they fell into someone else's poop on the floor. And to top it off, the train was so loud, it was frightening. We don't recommend this place, unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    1
    13
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The last time we stayed there, the bathrooms were horrible, dirty , same spider webs in bathroom year after year, garage all over the place, .... Store is poorly stocked along with poor service.. Greg's booking system also sucks terrible, Greg is far from a manager, nor do his staff know how to run a campsite, Awesome place but Greg is running it in to the ground.... Too bad .... We want Don & Tina back... Please!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nicely located campground on the lake but that darn trains is only 20 feet from first campsite and trains go by 3-4 times/hour. Free warm showers, laundry mat and store are nice features. We had great service from Greg at the front desk and we found everyone friendly and helpful. We were here a week for a summer children's camp and really enjoyed it. Wished there had been sewer hookup as the trailer we rented had such a small grey/black tank that we needed it dumped every 2 days for $30/time. The beach had a sandy shore and overall still a good time. Bring earplugs or turn on trailer fan to mask train noise all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First time camping in Salmon Arm, staff very helpfull and polite, excellent dog beach we have spent most of time there swimining and hanging out with our dogs. very clean beaches and campground. they very strict about the quiet time which is nice. yes the train is loud however you get use to it aftet 2nd day. 4 man showers but only 2 working however with campground being full there was no delay in wating. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had an amazing site. Lake view, right by the concession and store, close to the park. It was exactly what we had envisioned. The beach was not over crowded and it was kept very clean. We have never been to Pierre's Point and as soon as we backed our trailer in we were wishing we booked it for two weeks. It's close to town if you want to do other things like the watersides. I have to say that the ice cream is a big hit with our family. We bought one everyday and each day it was a different flavour. The train was not an issue with us at all. During the day we were so busy we never noticed and it wasn't a bother to us at night and never disrupted any of us from sleep. We will be returning 100%. The fishing was great as 5 fish were caught in an hour!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is not normally my type of camping(close quarters with other campers) but I had a fantastic week of sun and fun with lots of wonderful families most of whom participated in the BC French Family Camp. The campground was quite busy with campers and considering how many campers shared the bathrooms it was pretty well maintained. The beach and water were lovely and the views oh so beautiful. One of the things I most appreciated was the security and the strict requirement for quiet by 11 pm. I felt comfortable leaving my camper open day and night didn't hear of any thefts. I think that if you are part of the BCFFC group or not, the 2 weeks that they are there is a great opportunity to be in the company of lovely families with lots of happy energy.
Yes the trains are a bit noisy but one soon tunes them out. I slept well with earplugs and my kids had no problems sleeping without earplugs.

Room Tip: No rooms at this site and couldn't un-click on review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you're looking for mischief, this is not the campground for you. The campground manager and staff actually care about their campers and their campers' property. They have a security person that patrols at night. We were there for a full week with roughly forty other families for a kids' French camp. Everybody was very happy with the site and staff. In fact, it's the second year the event has been brought to Pierre's Point, and I believe the organizers plan to be back again for a third year. Greg, at the front desk, was friendly and went above and beyond for us. We were in a rental RV and weren't confident about how to dump the grey and black water, so Greg had the honey wagon come by to walk us through how it's done. Even with forty families, over and above their usual numbers, the washrooms were kept clean. We never saw a pile at the garbage either. It seems to us that the keepers of this place take pride in it and the work they do. Kudos!

Room Tip: There is a train track close to the property. I heard the train the first night and slept through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre's Point Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre's Point Campground

Address: Shuswap Lake, 7.7km west of Salmon Arm | Highway 1, Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Salmon Arm
Number of rooms: 192

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre's Point Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.