We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suisse Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Suisse

Bistro Suisse
2470 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X8, Canada
+1 250-656-5353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bistro Suisse and proudly offers a wide selection of classic Swiss and European dishes. Food made from scratch and served with love make the culinary experience in this casual fine dining restaurant located in the heart of Sidney so unique!
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Suisse Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When the Café Mozart closed,,the Suiise Bistro came in to existence,At first was OK and then went downhill.Now new owners and chef,(not Swiss),putting out decent food.Menu is a mix of Swiss-German dishes as well as some regional items i.e.fish ,lamb etc.Service is pleasant.Seating a bit crowded,but overall pleasant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Swiss and German Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Décor is dated but the food is top notch. Cost for an entry is $24-$40 dollars with wine in the mid to high 30's for a decent bottle. Service was excellent. The Chef often comes out for a visit at the end of the night to ask how the food was. A nice touch. Good variety of dishes. Recommend the Duck or veal medallions and the spaetzle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant has changed hands recently ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Food was very good -- and pricey as always however, living in the area, I do occasionally come for the ambiance, pampering and tasty food. Food's still good, however that's the only thing and definately not worth the price now

However, I was very disappointed with the service -- spent $100/ person on the meal, and never was able to get a second cup of coffee (nor did the servers ever pour my wine as is the usual quiet-connecting-with-customer service in high quality restaurants).

New owners and their staff are very focused on getting any warm body in -- including several couples who came in for fries and gravey and water for their Saturday evening meal. Yup, definately filled with warm bodies. Terrible ambiance and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, carefully prepared.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It has been about a year since I was here...how nice to see that the chef has maintained his high standards. I went here looking forward to the regular menu schnitzel...however, I was distracted by the special offering of a jaeger schnitzel...wow...it was great. My guest had the Reuben, which was her favourite. After the main, you just don't want dessert...it is more fun to retain the pleasure of the entree for a longer time.
Our server...ok, but she did not add anything to the experience...just did her job. My request for a simple substitution, for example, was received with a particularly odd response...it was left to the chef if it could be accommodated- really? How tough is it to "substitute any other vegetable in the world for the red cabbage offering"?
This Bistro is bistro sized....perhaps a table or two too many..they are so close together...not a great place to discuss business. There are 2 window tables...the " reserved" sign on one, which was never occupied, is a negative...obviously saved to give to a client who is more of a regular than we were judged to be.
We'll go back for the food, but the jury is still out on the overall attitude. There are more welcoming and friendlier options in Sidney..too bad..the food is so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not my favourite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I get dragged to this place a couple of times a year by my elderly parents. The food is mediocre at best and I'm always disappointed. Pricey for what you get. Food can be quite stodgy and heavy. It is a bit of a hole in the wall, which can be extremely charming if done correctly, but not at a restaurant that considers itself top shelf. Go to Sabhai Thai or 3rd Street Cafe instead. Better food, better prices and always consistent...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Suisse also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Bistro Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.