We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, welcoming, authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Suisse

Bistro Suisse
2470 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X8, Canada
(250) 656-5353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 73 restaurants in Sidney
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Cute, welcoming, authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Walked past this restaurant this afternoon, and was drawn to its charm. Returned at 5pm for dinner when they opened. It was warm, and cozy upon entering. I was looking for authentic Swiss food, similar to what I experienced in Switzerland a few years ago. This place did not disappoint! The portions are large. Locals swear by the schnitzel, I tried it, and it was amazing. Served with rosti ( like shredded hash browns) but way better. It also came with vegs and beet salad. Oh so good!

The only thing missing was the yodeling and big Swiss horns! Try this local favorite, it was busy and delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    47
    23
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little bistro is tucked away off the main harbour, but on the main street. We stumbled onto it with the Octoberfest special posted in the window. Need a reservations as they were super busy on a Monday night! Locals know about it! Very small, European cuisine, with friendly service and generous portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This intimate bistro has a nice selection of Swiss - German-European dishes and wines. It is a busy place so reserve a table in the tourist season. We enjoyed our entrees but they weren't as good as they could be. Service was good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great european restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from eating at this Bistro. The second time in 3 days I'm very impressed with this small restaurant. The food is a nice European cuisine.
The food servers are simply wonderful. We have traveled Europe, Middle East, and Asia extensively and seldom find better restaurants at a similar price range.
The only 2 faults I found with restaurant are that the wine list is very limited and has no nice wine by the glass. I would not mind paying the price for a good French or Italian wine.
Oddly enough, my second complaint is the size of the portions. They are way to large, more than twice the size than they need to be.
When you get such large portions you tend to not appreciate the real quality of what you are eatting. Not to mention that you have less profit because your food costs are to high. I suppose that the locals tend to expect this but it is not healthy to eat soooo much

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Slightly old fashioned dining but very tasty and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've eaten here half a dozen times for dinner while in Sidney. The avocado and shrimp salad is terrific for lunch or dinner. Hubby had rack of lamb last time and it was very nice. Not cutting edge cuisine but very dependable with standard Swiss favorites like schnitzel and excellent service. Generous portions. You can't reserve specific tables but the window seats give a great view of Beacon Ave. Sidney's main shopping street, or dine on the sidewalk. Wine list so-so, go for the BC offerings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Suisse also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Bistro Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.