We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumrunner Pub

Rumrunner Pub
9881 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-656-5643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 76 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1990, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has served delicious seafood and West Coast cuisine in a spectacular setting along the Sidney waterfront at picturesque Port Sidney Marina. Patrons enjoy a warm ambience, great food, and unforgettable views of the ocean, Gulf & San Juan Islands and Mount Baker. The cozy restaurant and bar both boast warm feature fireplaces, and in warmer weather the two outdoor patios allow diners the opportunity to enjoy sunshine and sea breezes. "Staff are friendly and cheerful,and we have a great kitchen staff," "Our pub menu is first class." At the full-service bar, customers can choose from a large selection of beverages - there's local and import beer in the bottle and on tap, as well as a wide selection of wines. Owner Bill Singer worked for 14 years in the Oak Bay Beach Hotel's venerable Snug before opening the Rumrunner in 1990. Since then, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has become a favoured spot for locals, a regular stop for visiting boaters, and a great find for visitors to Sidney.
Washington the state
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were looking for a place in Sidney for lunch and came upon this Pub on the waterfront. We by-passed it on first impression while looking for a more seafood type cafe and then came back and glad we did! During a week long stay on Vancouver Isl, Rumrunner had the best Halibut and chips out of half a dozen places. Crisp and not too thick breading on the halibut. Efficient waitpersons and reasonably priced (for the Victoria area). Plenty of free parking in the lot next door. The atrium seating arrangement gave a boat basin view and was bright and sunny, all adding to the ambiance and complimenting the food. There is a more "Pub" like atmosphere area next to the atrium if so desired.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    19
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great View and darn good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Sidney is a cozy little town and there is no shortage of restaurants. We wanted to eat on the water and selected Rumrunner. We were not disappointed. We ate in the bar area although they have a large outdoor area and indoor dining area. One of the specials that day was a crab and fish burger. My husband and I both ordered it. Patrons have a selection of sides and we chose french fries. Everything was outstanding. We had a view of the water, good food and cold beer. Who could ask for more? Service was excellent as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfy pub with a FABULOUS view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I spent the month of September 2011 in Sidney, happened on this restaurant almost the first day, and went back several times. Standard pub grub, much better than average, great staff, beautiful view both from the patio and inside. We hung out in front of the fireplace while it was raining, drank fancy martinis, and schmoozed with the owner. He was a pro and gave the place a high level of panache. Good local lore, funny bar owner stories, and, by the way, a beautiful wife in fabulous shoes who dropped in one evening. Nothing particularly Canadian about it for us Yanks, but a fun destination dining and drinking space.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view, could have used a flyswatter though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Overall, was a great visit. The food was good, the atmosphere was lovely, service was attentive. The only fly in the ointment was the fact that there were several flies buzzing around that was rather annoying.

The location is excellent with a wonderful view of the harbour; choose a patio table or inside the conservatory for the best views.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Really enjoyed the spinach salad. The halibut fish and chips were great although the portion size was small for the price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumrunner Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Rumrunner Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumrunner Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.