We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy pub with a FABULOUS view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumrunner Pub

Rumrunner Pub
9881 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-656-5643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 73 restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1990, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has served delicious seafood and West Coast cuisine in a spectacular setting along the Sidney waterfront at picturesque Port Sidney Marina. Patrons enjoy a warm ambience, great food, and unforgettable views of the ocean, Gulf & San Juan Islands and Mount Baker. The cozy restaurant and bar both boast warm feature fireplaces, and in warmer weather the two outdoor patios allow diners the opportunity to enjoy sunshine and sea breezes. "Staff are friendly and cheerful,and we have a great kitchen staff," "Our pub menu is first class." At the full-service bar, customers can choose from a large selection of beverages - there's local and import beer in the bottle and on tap, as well as a wide selection of wines. Owner Bill Singer worked for 14 years in the Oak Bay Beach Hotel's venerable Snug before opening the Rumrunner in 1990. Since then, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has become a favoured spot for locals, a regular stop for visiting boaters, and a great find for visitors to Sidney.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfy pub with a FABULOUS view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I spent the month of September 2011 in Sidney, happened on this restaurant almost the first day, and went back several times. Standard pub grub, much better than average, great staff, beautiful view both from the patio and inside. We hung out in front of the fireplace while it was raining, drank fancy martinis, and schmoozed with the owner. He was a pro and gave the place a high level of panache. Good local lore, funny bar owner stories, and, by the way, a beautiful wife in fabulous shoes who dropped in one evening. Nothing particularly Canadian about it for us Yanks, but a fun destination dining and drinking space.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    27
    38
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view, could have used a flyswatter though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Overall, was a great visit. The food was good, the atmosphere was lovely, service was attentive. The only fly in the ointment was the fact that there were several flies buzzing around that was rather annoying.

The location is excellent with a wonderful view of the harbour; choose a patio table or inside the conservatory for the best views.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Really enjoyed the spinach salad. The halibut fish and chips were great although the portion size was small for the price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
“Great food, Great service & HOT waitresses!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is the 3rd time I have been to the Rumrunner and as always I had a wonderful time
The food was exhalent I had the fried shrimp & my friend said had the battered halibut was better then fish & chips he had in England!!!
The service was the best I have had on the west cost yet & I would come back just to get an eye full of those hot waitresses

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've been going to Rumrunners for several years and took my relatives from Alberta there for lunch in July. The menu had been changed from our last visit. There was only an option of a small or large piece of Halibut with fries. We opted for the large piece but left hungry. It was definitley less value than the old menu of one or two pieces of fish but the price was more.. The location and outside patio are still wonderful but the overall food quality and value have decreased.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumrunner Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Rumrunner Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumrunner Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.