We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Calamari ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack

Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack
9812 Second St, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 656-9944
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Sidney
Restaurant details
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Calamari ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have eaten here over many years. Always been ok but this year it's gone up another notch. We had chicken souvlaki the night we arrived on holiday which was excellent, very fresh and generous portions. Last night we shared calamari and a large Greek Salad. The calamari was the best I'd ever had and the accompanying salad was excellent. We had plenty with the single portion of calamari to share (although I know that if we'd ordered 2 portions it would have all disappeared, it was that good). Highly recommended + I know we'll be back for more calamari before the holiday is over!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Greek food consistently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have eaten there fifteen to twenty times and sampled most of the menu. I have never been disappointed. Family run business so lots of pride in their fare. Prices are en par with other Greek establishments. Lovely eating area outside...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
“19 years of excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've been going to Maria's since I was a kid, 19 years later and it's still by far my favourite greek food anywhere! the tzatziki is AMAZING & you can definitely tell they make it from scratch. I can't say enough about the high standard of quality & hard work the entire family puts into everything they serve. i'll definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The food here is consistently excellent. A family business where you quite often can see both generations working together in a fun and welcoming atmosphere. Never turn down the
Greek Salad.... authentic and the most delicious tomatoes anywhere. Relaxed atmosphere... a great place to spend some time over a meal with family or friends.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh....very fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Dropped in with friends on a Sunday evening and was pleased as always with the food. The contents of the universal Greek salad were crisp and flavourful with the light dusting of feta as a topping. As others have commented the lamb is moist with an accent of the Greek yoghurt. It is a school cafeteria style place so prepare accordingly. There is no plate smashing or roving performers of any sort....all they offer is good food which does taste even better with a little retsina.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.