We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake Greek, overpriced and lousy food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack

Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack
9812 Second St, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 656-9944
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Sidney
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fake Greek, overpriced and lousy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Aside from the waffle fries this place should be avoided. My husband and I ordered a Greek salad...NOT...dressing was nothing but weakly flavoured oil and vinegar with a scattering of Feta cheese AND it was expensive. Souviakis were just OK.
I can't understand the rave reviews. This is definitely NOT a Greek restaurant. Being from Montreal we have excellent Greek eating establishments both cheap and expensive so I think that Maria's Souviaki should take a few lessons and first learn how to put together. a decent Greek salad and for the price, give customers decent value for the money.
The waffle fries were excellent...thats about it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“service???????????????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

food ok,poorly presented,,staff lacked any interest in customers...pricey for what you get..coke in a can maybe with straw &paper servet,down the street around corner real greek eating place cloth covered tables real sevice silverwear real dishes about same prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yummy calamari and souvlaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family loves coming here to eat. Yum yum yum. We have come many times, but always stick to the same favorites..... souvlaki, calamari, Caesar and greek salads. Haven't had a bad meal. Thoroughly enjoyed EVER bite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A consistently good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have eaten multiple times at Maria's over the years and have found the food to be consistently good and consistently delicious. In comparison with other Greek restaurants we have tried, Maria's is simply the best. The food is fresh and the portions ample. The atmosphere is very casual and would not likely suit a "night out on the town" type of occasion. For lunch or an informal supper, however, Maria's is an excellent choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“STILL MY FAVORITE...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

At least twice a month my husband and I eat at Maria's. The food is always the same.....fantastically delicious. I've had Greek food from here to Athens, and this is simply my favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Souvlaki & Greek Snack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.