We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place for family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9805 Seaport Place, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy place for family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a night at this hotel during our trip to Butchart Gardens, we got a room with sea view and it is worth every dollar we paid for it. We got a great sea view at the sunrise and sunset, the hotel is very conveniently located by the pier, we enjoyed our walk at the pier during the sunset and there are many restaurants with good food surrounding the hotel. The hotel staffs were friendly and the room was quiet, definitely will come back again next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    69
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
118
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I recently spend two nights at this hotel and was very impressed. The staff was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a fridge in our room, which we stocked with food from the market across the street. The hotel is on the main street and is close to restaurants and boutiques. It was nice to have a view of the ocean and pier from our room. We ate at Haro's restaurant, and the nearby Bistro Suisse and the food was great. This hotel is very handy to the airport and to the ferries. It was also a nice touch to see the friendly guide dog (hotel mascot) in the lobby. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. We truly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have now stayed twice at the Pier Hotel and had a wonderful stay on each occasion. The rooms are bright, spacious, comfortable and clean; the staff are friendly and eager to please; and the food at Haro's is excellent. The hotel is located right beside Sidney's waterfront piers and seaside walk, and close to the town's other charming pubs, restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: We can recommend room 209 - a lovely oceanview suite with wraparound balcony, two bathrooms, firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville ON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sadly I only had one night stay at the Sidney Pier Hotel in January. Although it was short, I have to say it was the cleanest, quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was a great size, the shower had lots of hot water and great water pressure. The robes and slippers were a wonderful bonus. The staff was extremely friendly. I arrived close to midnight and when I asked about a taxi for the next morning to the airport they immediately picked up the phone and booked one for me. When I checked out they called and confirmed the taxi would be there on time. As it was short I didn't get a chance to try the restaurant or the spa but both looked lovely. I would highly recommend the Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sidney Pier Hotel in July of this year, and had a fantastic mid-holiday break.
I contacted the hotel directly (many thanks to Kenny for his assistance) and booked a King Sea View Room and a Junior Suite for myself, wife and daughter. The accommodations are both modern and pristine, and account for around a third of the overall building footprint, the remainder being private residences with exclusive entrance to the side of the hotel. The two rooms we were allocated were both sea facing, though the suite was to the side of the hotel and overlooked the harbour and surrounding shops and eateries. The suite balcony was small but provided an excellent vantage point from which we could unwind with a glass of wine and watch the sunset over the bay.
There are a number of excellent restaurants within the hotel, all of which serve a wide range of dishes to suit most tastes, and the little cafe at the end of the pier is a must for breakfast or brunch!

For those wishing to stroll, the adjacent areas, small park and marina all provide excellent backdrops from which to soak in the tranquillity of this town. Walking inland there are numerous shops and cafes, and the Thursday night market is a must for those wishing to sample local produce along with arts and crafts. I had been told of this market, but had mistakenly eaten before going...........no room left for sampling!!

The hotel staff (and incumbent hound) are fantastic, and provided anything and everything we required during our stay. Meeting ex-pats who have successfully integrated into the North American communities is especially pleasing.

If you are going Stateside via the Washington Ferry service from Sidney, then the terminal is only a left turn and 2 min drive from the hotel, but beware, if you arrive too early, services are restricted and the mosquitoes are rife in the morning dew!!

Having visited numerous independent hotels in the USA and Canada, we found the Sidney Pier Hotel to be one of the very best in all aspects.
Many thanks to all the staff, and especially 'the lady from London'.

Room Tip: Book a premier room, you get more than you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here one night before an early flight since they were well regarded and had airport shuttle. We were unprepared for what warm, very personal service we received The room was huge, the bed comfortable and everyone was prepared to get us back to the airport at an obscenely early hour. I think many of the units are condominiums since the building is right on the water.

It is set in a lovely, very comfortable town with lots of great restaurant choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here recently while I was working in the area. Was disappointed that there wasn't a pool. I guess I just assumed that all hotels have swimming pools.

Room is furnished with very modern decor. Ocean and sunseet views are lovely.

Did find the room to be quite dark , despite having all the lights on. Perhaps they cater more to vacationers, and no so much business people, who have to do work in the rooms.

Also found that the cafe and restaurant did not open until 7 am or later. This seems quite late- again, for people who are here on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Address: 9805 Seaport Place, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.