We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedarwood Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added The Cedarwood Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9522 Lochside Drive, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1N8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Sidney
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem on the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Clean, comfortable and quiet accommodations. Beautiful grounds and gardens. Friendly, helpful staff. Our suite had all amenities plus fireplace and a fabulous view of the water. We especially enjoyed sitting in the lush gardens. We will definitely return to this lovely spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My family stoped here the night before flying out from the nearby Victoria airport. The rooms were big and clean. The decor was a bit 1970's cottage, lots of dark wood. The views were great, the Kitchen was well stocked and up to date and the bathrooms were nice.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Room: spacious, a nice surprise. Two bathrooms, two beds. Quite dated and furniture is as old as me, but we didn't mind. It rained a lot during our stay so we were happy to have a big room and a full kitchen. Overall quiet and kids slept soundly.

Kids' stuff: It was right across from apparently the best playground in Sidney. The kids enjoyed "mineral world" and the "glass beach", but there wasn't much else to do when it was raining. The family restaurants were usually quite busy and we couldn't get service at Fish on Fifth :(. Short car trip to Butchart Gardens and the Butterfly Gardens which our 2 and 3 year old both enjoyed despite the rain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

For Christmas this year, our family gathered to visit our Mom who lives in an assisted living facility in Sidney. We stayed in the Salt Springs suites on the main level at Cedarwood. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, each with two full size beds and a pullout couch. Televisions in bedrooms and livingrooms with vcr. Movies can be rented at the front desk. The completely equipped kitchens met all our needs for meal preparation and there are several grocery stores and bakeries within walking distance.

Cedarwood is on Pat Bay with fantastic views of the Olympic Mountains and Mount Baker. The 3 km oceanside walkway is perfect for jogging or a pleasant walk in fresh ocean air, just along the beach or all the way past the ferry dock to the Sidney pier. Be sure to take your camera.

At the end of the Sidney pier, there's a shop where you can buy freshly caught seafood. For Christmas Eve dinner, we had fresh oysters and crab legs for appetizers and baked a whole salmon. Wine and side dishes aplenty with fresh produce and baked goods from the local markets. To make our rooms feel more like Christmas, we shopped at a couple of the local thrift stores and picked up a selection of decorations for about $5.

The Cedarwood staff were, without exception, very friendly and helpful at all times. Our rooms were cleaned and the bedding and towels changed daily. Our family included adults and kids in their late teens and twenties, but it's a welcoming place for all ages. There are also pet friendly rooms on the main level for those traveling with dogs. Now that we've discovered Cedarwood, we plan to stay there whenever we visit Sidney.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

A funky little inn right across the street from the sound, great views, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and ferry from Anacortes, WA. Stayed 4 nights, and my 15 year old son and I liked it. Wifi was slow the first night, and our room didn't get serviced one day, could've been our fault, but overall it was a great little getaway spot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I found this hotel on Trip Advisory. It was a great hotel. Across the road from the ocean. The management was a great fellow, very helpful and very pleasant. The room was great. The little suites looked like they would be great if you were staying for a few days. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

From outside and in, you can tell that this place has been around for a while. They could sure use a makeover. Having said that, although it looks dated, there's actually nothing wrong. Everything is clean, everything works properly, it's quiet and comfortable. What more do you want, really?

Well, breakfast would be nice. But that's a fairly recent custom in North American hotels and there's no place here to offer it. No real problem - there's a full-size fridge and stove, so you can make your own. Or walk into Sidney for lots of choices.

If you plan to make your own food, note also that they have BBQ's for guests to use. I did see one guy doing that.

We stayed five nights and have no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cedarwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedarwood Inn and Suites

Address: 9522 Lochside Drive, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cedarwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among award-winning gardens in a quiet, residential area of Sidney-By-The-Sea, the Cedarwood provides waterfront accommodation with a difference. When you stay with us, you are close to the world-renowned Butchart Gardens and within walking distance to the San Juan Islands ferries. You will have the opportunity to enjoy spectacular views of the waterfront and gardens by the sea, Olympic Mountains and Mount Baker. Just a few blocks away, there are restaurants, cafes, banks, supermarkets and unique specialty shops to serve your every need. Whether on holiday or on business, we invite you to stay at The Cedarwood, where it is our intention to provide each and every guest with a home away from home, all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Cedarwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedarwood Hotel Sidney
Cedarwood Hotel Sidney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedarwood Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.