We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, caring and intimate retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Inn at Sidney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Inn at Sidney to your Saves list
Beacon Inn at Sidney
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9724 Third Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A warm, caring and intimate retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The Beacon Inn in Sidney, B.C. is a delightful spot. It is a warm, intimate and caring place where one might equally make friends with the innkeeper or with other guests in the breakfast room or by the fire in the cozy sitting room on the main floor.

Rooms are handsomely decorated, immaculately clean, and well-appointed with large tubs and comfortable chairs. Staff are caring and attentive. A hot breakfast is included and is served in two sittings. Tea, coffee and house-baked cookies are available at all hours, and sherry in the early evening.

It is a small inn and most rooms are accessible only by stairs - no elevator. There are a couple of rooms on the main floor for those who can't manage stairs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
48
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Lovely small hotel with excellent rooms and service. Loved the breakfast and all the small touches throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

As a 'picky' traveller, I could not find one thing to criticize or improve on. Having stayed here twice for an extended period of time, the service, breakfasts maintained its hight quality throughout.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I spent 1 night in Sydney to be close to the airport on our return home. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of Beacon Inn. It really feels like an expensive inn yet the room rates were very reasonable. We were upgraded to a beautifully appointed room which included a fireplace and whirlpool tub. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Well decorated, (not cluttered but in an older style), ample food tastefully cooked and presented but with no choice (set menu), TVs have been upgraded to thin flat screens in the 2 rooms we stayed in, ample free parking, easy walking distance to all of downtown, free wi-fi, exceptionally clean and quiet, very friendly staff. On both occasions they upgraded our reservation without cost. They try very hard to make sure you have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband stayed here when on business and recommended it. I have only one (minor) complaint which I'll address below but there is so much to say in a positive light. Yes, this B&B is staffed and owners don't live on the premises but that certainly did not take away from the personal service and attentiveness of all staff members. They all remembered me by name, asked about my daily routine and made some very useful suggestions.

The room was very comfortable and clean. I hate places that are less than clean and this place did not disappoint. The room has every amenity, was more spacious than most, and the staff kept it tidy and clean during my 6 day stay. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

The bedding is top quality and sleeping was so comfortable.

The TVs are the only thing that really don't fit with this fine accommodation, but it didn't bother me because I was there to enjoy Sidney and area, not watch TV. The TVs are small and old but I don't see that as a negative.

Breakfasts were always delicious and prompt. My only complaint is that the breakfast meats (something different every day) are obviously microwaved to warm them thus the meat is hard and not appetizing. But the egg dishes (eggs benedict, souffle, french toast, omelet, etc) were always perfectly done and very tasty. I also liked that they served locally made blueberry syrup and a nice berry jam.

So, my stay was a pleasure in this clean, comfortable inn with plenty of attention to detail. I can hardly wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Wonderful place. Beautifully decorated and furnished -- great attention to the small details that make for a perfect stay. The staff were terrific. Could not ask for anything more!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Inn at Sidney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn at Sidney

Address: 9724 Third Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Inn at Sidney 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "One of Canada's Top 10 B&B/Inns for 2014". The Beacon Inn offers 5-Star luxury in the heart of Sidney. Centrally located in quaint seaside community of Sidney, close to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, BC ferries (to Vancouver & Gulf Islands) and WA State ferries (to San Juan Islands & Anacortes), as well as the Victoria airport. The Inn offers complimentary full breakfasts; afternoon Sherry; coffee/tea/snacks; off-street parking; local phone calling; and WiFi. Nine beautifully appointed guestrooms with feather beds, spa-inspired ensuite bathrooms, gas F/P's, CD players and A/C. An easy stroll to many unique local shops, a great selection of eateries, coffee houses, and the spectacular Sidney waterfront just 2 blocks away. Area activities include, golf, wine tasting and tours, whale watching, cycling, kayaking and boating to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Inn at Sidney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Inn at Sidney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.