We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Inn at Sidney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Inn at Sidney to your Saves list
Beacon Inn at Sidney
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9724 Third Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at this Inn in their junior suite. Very nice, clean, spacious! And great view. Friendly, helpful staff, and walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
47
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent two days in Sidney, BC and had a wonderful experience at this unique B & B. Because of mobility issues we requested the main floor. We were in the Pender room and it was well maintained, very clean, large bathroom and an extremely large room. Complimentary sherry was served at 5:00 pm and gave you a chance to meet the other guests. Breakfast was a set time which was fine. Both mornings we had a lovely breakfast. No, it is not a five course meal but plenty big enough. We had coffee/tea/juice, a starter and then a hot dish. No rush , just great relaxation. We met the owner of the inn as well and he wanted to make sure everything was ok and the service was what we expected. Yes, you have to lock the door going in and out but that was ok. All the inn staff took great care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I wish we lived closer, we would certainly return again to enjoy the hospitality. There was nothing negative at all about Beacon Inn and would highly recomment it to anyone who enjoys going to any country inns, you will not regret it. I cannot understand some of the really negative comments about the inn, it makes me think we were not at the same place. A big thank you to everyone involved with the Beacon Inn.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so main floor may be best for some. Very quiet though so you do not need to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperSidney_BC, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review of the Inn! We strive to always provide the best possible service and product to our valued guests and your positive feedback is appreciated by myself and all of our hard working staff.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Denise Peat, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in the Saltspring Suite on the last stretch of our honeymoon. It's a very romantic setup, with a 2-person tub, cozy rooms, beautiful views of the city and a royal Victorian aesthetic. The breakfasts were filling, the staff extremely nice and helpful, and the area very laid-back and perfect for a couple days' stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in a ground floor room and was extremely pleased. Staff, breakfast, room were all superior.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty by the friendly staff.

The room, a beautiful suite, was well appointed and wonderful. From the comfortable bed to the large soaking tub we enjoyed it all. Everyone should have a romance rekindle weekend like the Beacon Inn can provide at least once a year.

The breakfasts were great. Perfect before heading out to the nearby bookstores, shops and the Ocean Centre in downtown Sidney. There are also a number of wonderful restaurants nearby for a range of tastes and budgets.

I liked the room most and the friendly staff -- no stuffy formality, just friendly and helpful.

The weekend would have been absolutely perfect if it was warmer and sunnier. In summary: I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

very nice inn. clean with friendly staff.
breakfast not enough to keep you full though, you will need a snack after leaving in the morning

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I've gone back and looked at the reviews of the Inn and I can't believe we are talking about the same place. We arrived within the check in hours, but it took some knocking on the door to get someone to open the 'forever locked' front door. Our first floor "suite" was a small, musty space, with furniture well past its prime. The ridge in the middle of the mattress suggested it was over do for replacement. The bathroom was bright and overstuffed...shower and spa tub. Space was at a premium. Breakfast was a total miss. A tad of friut covered with yogurt, juice, one english muffin covered with a cooked egg and cheese mixture and then broiled, it couldn't hold a candle to a value breakfast meal from McDonald's. But then Mickey D's didn't have a melon slice garnish slice so thin you could read through it. Even the sherry at five can't hide the fact that the Inn is over priced and, with all due respects to previous reviewers, over rated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperSidney_BC, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Please excuse this lengthy response, however for the benefit of other travellers, I cannot allow such inaccurate and misleading claims to stand without comment. I must admit, I had to read this review several times over, certain that the reviewer had mistaken our property with another during their travels. I will start off by stating that it would be virtually impossible for a property to be awarded a 5-Star rating such as ours, to maintain this highest of ratings, if the assertions made by this reviewer were accurate, and I truly believe that those reading this review will be savvy enough to realize this truth. I will address the points made by the reviewer below:

Our front door is indeed kept locked, this is for our security, and even more importantly, for that of our guests, and it is for this reason that we have a clear notice at the front door to "Please Press the Call Buzzer for Entry". Once a guest has checked-in, they are provided with a key to our front door so they can come and go freely.

As we are a newer property (mock-heritage style), we are very fortunate and happy to say that we do not have a "musty" smell on our premises, as can sometimes be present in older buildings, and I dispute this claim in it's entirety. Also noteworthy, 8 of our 9 units are "guestrooms", with our one and only "suite" located on our 3rd floor. At no time have we ever suggested, or implied that a "room" was a "suite"... if this reviewer was for some unknown reason, expecting a "suite", then their well appointed and spacious "guestroom" could have been perceived as small for a "suite".

As a 5-Star property, we are subject to stringent (surprise) inspections, where everything from cleanliness, condition of the paint on the walls, to the condition of our mattresses and furnishings are scrutinized. We are proud of the fact that we have passed inspections with flying colours each and every year since being awarded our 5-Star rating. I would encourage anyone considering a stay with us, to view our rooms on our website and take a "virtual tour", to explore each room as if you were actually there, including the room occupied by this reviewer, our Pender Island room.

Our breakfasts....we provide a "complimentary" set menu, full breakfast, consisting of bottomless coffee or tea, juice, fruit, or fruit/yogurt starter, followed by a hot main course, which varies daily, as well as granola for those who enjoy cereal. Typically, an Inn or Bed & Breakfast will provide fare that is different from the "usual" breakfast fare, yet there are always a small minority who would prefer something different than what is offered.

Lastly, I would urge anyone seeking area accommodation to do their own research and judge for themselves... we are competitively priced, and some would say a bargain for a 5-Star property!

In closing, I would have appreciated the opportunity to personally speak with the reviewer at the time of their stay, to understand exactly how their 1-night stay could have warranted such a mean-spirited attempt at tarnishing our excellent reputation.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Inn at Sidney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn at Sidney

Address: 9724 Third Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Inn at Sidney 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Inn offers affordable luxury in the heart of Sidney. Centrally located in the quaint seaside community of Sidney, close to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, BC ferries (to Vancouver & Gulf Islands) and WA State ferries (to San Juan Islands & Anacortes), as well as the Victoria airport. The Inn offers complimentary full breakfasts; afternoon Sherry; coffee/tea/snacks; off-street parking; local phone calling; and WiFi. Nine beautifully appointed guestrooms with feather beds, spa-like en-suite bathrooms, gas F/P's, CD players and A/C. An easy stroll to many unique local shops, a great selection of eateries, coffee houses, and the spectacular Sidney waterfront just 2 blocks away. Area activities include, wine tasting and tours, whale watching, cycling, kayaking and boating to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Inn at Sidney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Inn at Sidney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.