We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just closed during many days...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral World and the Scratch Patch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mineral World and the Scratch Patch
9808 Seaport Place, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
250 655-4367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 17 attractions in Sidney
Attraction Details
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just closed during many days...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I noticed to see the mineral word. I love minerals. But the showroom was closed for refection and the shop where we could have the chance to see minerals was only closed for several days. Not acceptable in a tourism place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mineral World and the Scratch Patch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I go there often to find lovely gifts for family and friends. There's always something attractive to buy. Our grandsons loved the Scratch Patch when they came to visit. They took home a variety of colourful rocks from the Patch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small small small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The scratch patch area is fun for small people (kids) with small hands, since the area is small. Did I mention it is small? You pay for a small plastic bag that the child is welcome to stuff with as many stones as will fit. The gift shop area is larger and full of breakables not really meant for small hands. Adults, though, are sure to find something fun in the gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Rock shop with jewelery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Scratch Patch is a very elementary geology exhibit suitable for kids 4 to 9 years old. Mineral World specializes in semi-precious jewelery, oddities, and off-color cards.
In retrospect, I cannot think of a good reason to go there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Gift Store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great little gift store, offering items I've not seen in many places. The Scratch Patch isn't a destination, but it's a great place for kids to check out some rocks and age-appropriate items (gifts, learning, etc.) The polished rocks are nestled in nooks and crannies in a cave-like setting. My son thought it was pretty neat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral World and the Scratch Patch also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Mineral World and the Scratch Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral World and the Scratch Patch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mineral World and the Scratch Patch to your Saves list